Blues Foundation logo
“Winner of Two Blues Foundation Music Awards in 2014”
Best Acoustic Album: There's a Time - Doug MacLeod
Best Acoustic Artist: Doug MacLeod

Reference Recordings RR-130 CD Cover
There’s a Time

Doug MacLeod,
guitars & vocals

Jimi Bott drums
Denny Croy bass


SAN FRANCISCO -'Prof.' Keith Johnson's first blues recording!
13 new Doug MacLeod originals highlight this richly detailed recording, done at Skywalker Sound in Marin County, CA. by the Grammy® winning engineer.

Also featured are Doug's longtime bassist Denny Croy, and Jimi Bott, one of the most recorded, awarded and respected blues drummers in the world.

Doug says: “Making this album was different than any other one I've done in the past."   Talking about the session MacLeod recalls, “They put Jimi, Denny and me on this huge soundstage at Skywalker Sound in Marin County and we sat around in a circle where we could see each other.   We played live, no overdubs, just three guys playing some music together.”

A perennial Blues Music Award nominee, MacLeod is currently nominated for Acoustic Artist of the Year. (Drummer Jimi Bott is also a Blues Music Award nominee).

Doug MacLeod is a throwback musician in the great tradition of the traveling bluesman from the genre's classic era, having apprenticed with some of the best as a sideman with such legends as Big Joe Turner, Pee Wee Crayton, Eddie "Cleanhead" Vinson, Big Mama Thornton and George "Harmonica" Smith.   During that time, he developed his unique, unorthodox and powerfully rhythmic acoustic guitar style, which he puts to great use on There's A Time playing on a variety of guitars with such pet names as "Moon" (a National M-1 Tricone), "Little Bit" (a Gibson C-100 FE) and "Owl" (a National Style "O"), plus a National El Trovador 12-String.

The other element of Doug's style is his remarkable ability as a storyteller, another trademark of the classic itinerant blues musician. Listening to the songs on There's A Time is like attending a master class on storytelling, as MacLeod weaves tales that are visceral, insightful and often humorous.

  1. Rosa Lee     3:20
  2. Black Nights     6:26
  3. The Up Song     3:54
  4. My Inlaws Are Outlaws     4:42
  5. The Entitled Few     4:38
  6. A Ticket Out     2:59
  7. Run With The Devil     5:08
  8. St. Elmo's Rooms and Pool     4:08
  9. I'll Be Walking On     3:27
10. East Carolina Woman     3:17
11. The Night Of The Devil's Road     6:01
12. Dubb's Talking Religion Blues     5:56
13. Ghost     4:09

All songs written by Doug MacLeod
published by Gaslight Square Music,
administered by BMG/Chrysalis

Reference Recordings are distributed in Australia by Rockian Trading