Exciting new music for winds, brass, percussion & pipe organ!
RR-108CD Cover
Garden of Dreams




David Maslanka is the most-performed living composer for wind band.   His music is widely known for its accessibility, its brilliant and imaginative orchestration, and its depth of expression.   Maslanka has spent his artistic life exploring what can be called the dreamscape of music.   Music, in his words, forms the balance point between the conscious and unconscious minds.   His music fuels the active power of our waking life, and resonates in the deep pools of what he calls the mystic, timeless part of our being - the part where dreams come from.

This new recording by America's premier windband presents three Maslanka works in the finest professional performances they are likely to have.   A Child's Garden of Dreams is a kaleidoscopic exploration of the sonorities and textures available from the modern concert wind band.   In Memoriam, based on a Bach chorale, is an eloquent soundscape with an impressive range of musical color.   Symphony #4, an imposing work incorporating the doxology hymn-tune Old Hundredth, rises to a magnificent climax calling for full forces and pipe organ.   As captured by “Prof.” Johnson's thrilling HDCD recording, this is sure to become a touchstone of state-of-the-art sound reproduction.

2006 marks the 30th Anniversary year of Reference Recordings, the esteemed independent record label dedicated to the highest standards of recording art and technology.

A Child's Garden of Dreams     34:09
  1. I     5:00
  2. II     5:46
  3. III     3:17
  4. IV     9:24
  5. V     9:24

  6. In Memoriam     13:18

Symphony #4     29:54
  7. M. I-332     7:04
  8. M. 333-405     3:36
  9. M. 406-569     6:32
10. M. 570-711     4:29
11. M. 712-END     8:10

        Total Time:     77:45

Reference Recordings are distributed in Australia by Rockian Trading