Fresh! from RR Logo TM

fresh!FROM R.R.

Reference Recordings FR-705 CD  Cover

Andrés Segovia Archive
Spanish Composers

Roberto Moronn Pérez


The genesis for this unique project is a collection of pieces recovered in May 2001 at Segovia's home in Spain.   These pieces were dedicated to Segovia or commissioned by him, involving composers from eight countries.   They were subsequently published as “The Segovia Archive Series” by Edizione Musicale Bèrben.   Guitarist Roberto Moronn Pérez researched these newly recovered works and found some pieces that had never been recorded, and those that had were handicapped by poor visibility in the marketplace and limited distribution.   This realization sparked the thought that here was an opportunity: a series of recordings organized around the nationalities of the composers in the Segovia Archive.   The Spanish composers recorded here are the first in the series,to be followed soon by an album of the French composers.

Spanish-born Roberto Moronn Pérez studied in Madrid, Italy and the UK, graduating with first-class honours and a degree in Musicology from the Universidad Complutense de Madrid.   He completed a postgraduate program at the prestigious Royal Academy of Music in London,where he received the Julian Bream Prize and was selected to participate at the Wigmore Hall Award.   A prize-winner of many international competitions, Roberto has appeared as soloist in Spain, Switzerland, Italy, the USA, the United Kingdom, Ukraine, Germany and Japan, and in concert with numerous Spanish orchestras.   Recently, he played the famous Concierto de Aranjuez with the Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra and the National Symphony Orchestra of Ukraine.

This new album was recorded in the lovely acoustics of Holy Trinity Church,Weston, Hertfordshire, U.K.   It was produced, recorded and edited by the outstanding U.K. engineer John Taylor.   Mastering is by Reference Recordings' own Grammy®-winning engineer Keith O. Johnson.   FRESH! is part of Reference Recordings' mission to encourage new artists and give them a strong platform for promotion and sales nationally and internationally.   Says Executive Director Marcia Martin, “It is exciting to add this avenue to RR Technical Director Keith O. Johnson's life-long role in mentoring new artists.   We also are pleased to feature exceptional producing/engineering teams from outside our company on Fresh!”

      VICENTE ARREGUI (1871 - 1925)
  1. Canción lejana     5:26
      Tres piezas láricas
  2. Intermedio     4:45
  3. Confidencia     5:41
  4. Campesina     4:19

      PEDRO SANJUÁN (1886 - 1976)
  5. Una leyenda     5:22

      GASPAR CASSADÓ (1897 - 1966)
  6. Catalanesca     3:06
  7. Canción de Leonardo     3:30
  8. Sardana Chigiana     4:55
  9. Preámbulo y Sardana     6:31
10. Leyenda Catalana     5:29

      PADRE DONOSTIA (1886 - 1956)
11. Errimina (Nostalgia)     5:09

      JAUME PAHISSA (1880 - 1969)
12. Canço en el mar     3:39
      Tres temas de recuerdos
13. Preludio - Por el viejo camino     2:47
14. Diálogo     3:12
15. Danza lejana     2:46

      FEDERICO MOMPOU (1893 - 1987)
16. Canción y Danza     3:49

Fresh! from RR Logo TM

Fresh!  from Reference Recordings is distributed in Australia by Rockian Trading