Opus 3 Classical Music

CD 8522
Multichannel Super Audio CD

Concertos for Double Bass
and Orchestra

The Oskarshamn Ensemble
conducted by Jan-Olav Wedin

In this highly unusual recording, featuring the double bass as solo instrument, we hear music by the Italian composer Giovanni Bottesini and two Swedish composers - Erland von Koch and Lars-Erik Larsson.

Soloist: Thorvald Fredin, is Professor of Double Bass at the Stockholm College of Music.

A breezy presentation of double bass virtuoso Bottesini's second concerto for the instrument, originally written for performance by the composer himself coupled with his Elegia, testifies the present performers' technical mastery and musical understanding of this typically 19th century composition in which no opportunity is lost, in cantelinaor runs, demonstrating the soloist's proficiency. (Musikrevy)

Concertino for double bass and string orchestra, op.45 No. 11

1.   Ballad: Moderate   4'45
2.   Arioso: Lento   3'55
3.   Finale: Allegro vivace   3'13

Serenade for double bass and string orchestra

4.   Allegro Moderato   2'52
5.   Andante sostenuto   3'25
6.   Tempo di Valse   1'59
7.   Molto vivace   2'57

Concertino for double bass and orchestra, No. 2 in B minor

8.   Allegro Moderate   6'30
9.   Andante   5'25
10. Allegro   5'08

11. Elegia in Re Maggiore for double bass and string orchestra   4'15

Opus 3 is distrbuted in Australia by Rockian Trading
P.O. Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone (03) 9432 4149 - Facsimile (03) 9444 6879