CD 22050
[Multichannel SACD]

Showcase 2005

• Showcase 2005 is a collection where we show some of the latest Opus 3 music.
• Showcase 2005 is an excellent disc to demonstrate audio equipment.   It's a hybrid stereo/multichannel SACD.
• Showcase 2005 is educational, both from a musical and from a technical perspective because when it comes to serious and quality surround sound - nobody is sitting in the middle of the band!
• Since Opus 3 launched their first Testrecord in 1979, the Opus 3 Test CD/Samplers have become an audio institution!
• As technology advances and improves so will the Opus 3 Showcase to include and illustrate new and stimulating possibilities made available on SACDs and pure DSD.
• In what we believe is a very harmonic and enjoyable mix, we give you a selection from our latest albums of music ranging from Blues, (sometimes with spices of Rock!), Jazz, World Music and Classical.
• In common with our previous Test CD's/Showcase albums, we include in-depth liner notes and comments on all of the tracks..........but with a significant difference.
• Most of the tracks on this album were recorded and mixed not only in stereo, but also in real surround and we therefore give precisely detailed information relating to this, i.e; whether in a Blues or Jazz Club, Church or Concert Hall etc.
• Well recorded surround sound has really advanced the Hi Fi experience towards its ultimate goal which is to create the feeling of being there live with the musicians.   Though we would stress that you are not 'playing in the band' are, instead, in a much better listening the front row!
• It might be interesting to note that SACD now celebrates it's fifth anniversary!
- Jan-Eric Persson, Opus 3

Showcase 2005
01. Wino's Dance (P. af Ugglas)
      from: Peder af Ugglas, “Autumn Shuffle” 5'21
02. Let Me Call You Sweetheart (L. Friedman)
      from: Lars Erstrand, The “Complete” Songs 5'11
03. Why (K. Wilson - H. E. Kuhn)
      from: Katinka Wilson, “One Life” 3'07
04. I Want To Be Ready (Trad. Arr. E. Bibb)
      from: Eric Bibb, “Just Like Love” 2'46
05. Wild Man Blues (L. Armstrong - Martin)
      from: The Swedish Jazz Kings, “A Tribute To Young Louis” 7'05
06. Deep Sea Blues (E. Bibb - D. Walker)
      from: Eric Bibb, “Just Like Love” 2'17
07. The Boat (K. Wilson - H. E. Kuhn)
      from: Katinka Wilson, “One Life” 3'30
08. Bereden väg för Herran/In Dulci jubilo (Trad. from Boda, Sweden)
      from: The Erik Westberg Vocal Ensemble, “A Star is Shining” 4'21
09. Rauk, part 2 (A. Åstrand)
      from: Global Percussion Network, “Rauk” 5'22
10. Valse Mignonne op 142:2 (Sigfried Karg-Elert)
      from: Mattias Wager, “Organ Treasures” 5'43
11. Across the Bridge of Hope (J. Sandström)
      from: The Erik Westberg Vocal Ensemble, “Across the Bridge of Hope” 4'30
12. Andantino, from Quintet in B minor (J. Brahms)
      from: Kjell Fagéus, “Johannes Brahms” 4'23
13. Nativity Carol (J. Rutter)
      from: The Erik Westberg Vocal Ensemble, “A Star is Shining” 4'01
14. Paniolo Dream (N. Malmeström - G. Wennerbrandt)
      from: “Tiny Island” 5'44
15. A Hymn (P. af Ugglas)
      from: Peder af Ugglas, “Autumn Shuffle” (with Mattias Wager) 2'36

Opus 3 is distrbuted in Australia by Rockian Trading
P.O. Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone (03) 9432 4149 - Facsimile (03) 9444 6879