Blues, Folk and World Music

CD 22014

Super Audio Compact Disc

Lars Erstrand Trio & Quartet with guests
The "Complete" Songs

We are glad to present Lars Erstrand's 6th Opus 3 album - a "dream- project" that Lars had in mind for over 15 years!
- Jan-Eric Persson, Opus 3

"Perhaps the most important thing I have learned in my 50 years of playing, as a vibraphonist is the awareness of the enormous quality and variety of the songs composed in what is commonly called "The Great Swing Era."

For more than 30 years I had the privilege and pleasure of playing with the outstanding Swedish clarinettist Ove Lind, whose life ended at all too early an age.   One of the things about Ove was his enormous repertoire, not only of the songs but also the verses, which were so very often not recorded at this time.   He maintained that a song is not really complete without the verse, and I and many other musicians, really agree that he has a point.   A verse is like a prologue, where the words of the lyrics give background to the story, which is the main theme of the chorus.   Musically it can be a separate entity in itself and comprise a further composition of beauty.   So - here I would like to present 11 "complete" songs."
- Lars Erstrand

The trio comprises, besides Lars himself, one of Sweden's absolutely best new jazz pianist, Jan Lundgren   On double bass is another of Sweden's most sought after musicians Bans Backenroth.   On drums we have Leif "Gus" Dahlberg who has been playing with Lars Erstrand on several other Opus 3 albums.
As soloists we have the pleasure to present Antii Sarpila from Finland on tenor and soprano saxophone on 3 tracks, Bertil Fernqvist on electric guitar on 2 tracks and finally Lasse Tornqvist on cornet, also on 2 tracks.
- Jan-Eric Persson, Opus 3

A few words on the recording:
This is the 2nd pure Opus 3 DSD recording on Super Audio CD in multichannel/surround sound.   Opposite to the Global Percussion Network album, the new Erstrand SACD has a more normal surround-mix and where the rear channels in this instance enhance the reverberation and atmosphere of the jazz dub in order to make the listener feel that he is "there!"
- Jan-Eric Persson, Opus 3

The "Complete" Songs
Lars Erstrand Trio & Quartet with guests
  1. A Nightingale Sang In Berkeley Square       6'34

  2. Let Me Call You Sweetheart       5'11

  3. Life Can Be So Sweet       5'23

  4. A Hundred Years From Today       5'21

  5. 'S Wonderful       3'44

  6. Ah! Sweet Mystery Of Life       4'44

  7. Then I'll Be Tired Of You       5'34

  8. Song Of Songs       5'07

  9. For You, For Me, For Ever More       5'52

10. Tea For Two       5'42

11. On The Sunny Side Of The Street       3'11

Opus 3 is distrbuted in Australia by Rockian Trading
P.O. Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone (03) 9432 4149 - Facsimile (03) 9444 6879