Blues, Folk and World Music

CD 22011

Super Audio Compact Disc

Global Percussion Network

We are glad to present the first Opus 3 SACD-multichannel recording made in pure DSD!

Global Percussion Network is a newly formed group but quite different from what you normally associate with percussion music.   Instead of using a lot of "drums," Global Percussion Network is very much based on the sound of the Marimba and the Vibraphone, and also very often quite melodic.   Their music contains at the same time a lot of free improvisation which sometimes makes it difficult to categorise.   Basically, it must be labelled as classical music but with a lot of jazz influences - a kind of "crossover album."

Global Percussion Network was formed by composer and arranger Anders Astrand, who was one of the musicians behind the very special Organ/Percussion album on Opus 3, "Live at Vattnajokull" and that was recorded on Iceland 4 years ago.
- Jan-Eric Persson, Opus 3

A few words on the subject of surround sound on this recording:
The way the surround sound is recorded and mixed on this album is somewhat different from what has been made before with acoustic music. Instead of having the "regular stereo picture" reproduced by the front speakers and the reverberation of the concert hall in the rear speakers, we have in this instance broadened the stereo picture so it actually extends all the way to both rear speakers. If you would like to know more about why we have recorded it this way, also from a composers point of view and some more technical details, please see page 10 in the CD-booklet!
- Jan-Eric Persson, Opus 3

Global Percussion Network
1.   Wedding March

2.   Walking Mallets

3.   Three Seconds to D

4.   Part 1
5.   Part 2
6.   Part 3

7.   Aurora Borealis
All compositions written by Anders Åstrand

Opus 3 is distrbuted in Australia by Rockian Trading
P.O. Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone (03) 9432 4149 - Facsimile (03) 9444 6879