NMC Recordings Logo TM
Colin Riley: Shenanigans

Tom Lessels, clarinet - Kate Halsall piano/keyboard
Genevieve Wilkins, percussion - Nicola Summerscales, alto flute
Samantha Wickramasinghe, violin - Jessica Beeston viola
Rebecca Hepplewhite, cello - Celine Saout, harp
Matthew Schellhorn, piano

NMC D241

D241 Cover
• Colin’s work has been performed by many of the leading music ensembles, including BBC Symphony Orchestra, London Sinfonietta, Smith Quartet, and Piano Circus. He has collaborated with diverse artists in the last few years, including an album with drummer Bill Bruford (Yes, King Crimson) and the poet Michael Rosen.

• In Place – a new extended multi-media song-cycle, for voice and ensemble by Colin Riley – tours the UK in November. www.inplaceproject.co.uk

‘Tantalising new territory’ The Times

‘Riley is that rarest of birds, a genuine original’ London Jazz Blog

One of NMC's commitments to new music is rescuing significant recordings that have been deleted.   This award-winning album of first recordings of Imogen Holst's chamber works (originally released on the Court Lane Music label) is an important addition to the NMC catalogue, and a wonderful tribute to a significant 20th-century British composer.   Stylistically, many of the works share a similar soundworld to early Tippett and Finzi, however during the 1930s Imogen heard Berg's Wozzeck in Vienna, which had a profound impact.   Her Sonata for Violin and Cello, written during this time, explores a darker, more unsettling dissonance.   There is another reason that this release is important to NMC.   It is thanks to Imogen (and Colin Matthews) that NMC Recordings was created, back in 1989, with support from the Holst Foundation.

Colin Riley's work draws on a range of elements including improvisation, new technologies, song-writing and large-scale classical form.   His work is impossible to categorize, embodying a genuine integration of stylistic approaches.   As an established, but ever-questioning fi gure within the contemporary music scene over the last 20 years he has cut an independent path through many layers of trends and styles.   We are delighted to welcome Colin to the NMC catalogue with this album showcasing his chamber works, written between 2005 and 2015.

Many of the tracks on this album are energetic and playful, with more than a hint of jazz. In Lyric Pieces Riley is infl uenced by his emotional links to songs (and their lyrics) by post punk, prog and rock bands that he listened to when he was a teenager.


      Three Movements
  1. Purl       5'48
  2. Wane       6'34
  3. Bob       5'35
      Tom Lessels clarinet • Kate Halsall piano • Genevieve Wilkins percussion

      Lyric Pieces
  4. All My Failings Exposed       3'55
  5. Right to the End of Our River       5'42
  6. A Kind of Green       3'12
  7. Close the Door, Put Out the Light       4'06
  8. Something In Our Minds Will Always Stay       3'05
  9. The Bluegirls Have All Gone Away       6'55
      Rebecca Hepplewhite cello • Celine Saout harp
      Nicola Summerscales a/to flute • Samantha Wickramasinghe violin
      Beeston viola

10. A Cool Carfuffle       2'29
11. Lazy Legs Lollop       2'45
12. Before and After       2'06
13. Cockaloop       3'05
14. Curly Birds       1'41
15. Swan Song       4'28
      Tom Lessels clarinet • Kate Halsall piano

16. As the Tender Twilight Covers       9'08
      Matthew Schellhorn piano

      Total timing:       71'02

NMC Recordings are distributed in Australia by
Rockian Trading, P.O.Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone (03) 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile (03) 9444 6879