Milt Jackson Quintet

MFSL 1-298
180 gram Audiophile LP

MFSL 1-298 Cover Gain 2 Ultra Analog Logo Legendary vibraphonist Milt “Bags” Jackson needed only three sessions to record the gem that is 1963's Invitation, an album on which the longtime Modern Jazz Quartet member paired the enviable cast of trumpeter Kenny Dorham, tenor saxophonist Jimmy Heath, pianist Tommy Flanagan, bassist Ron Carter, and drummer Connie Kay.   No, you donít need to be a jazz aficionado to recognize those musicians.   Household names all, they and Jackson deliver in spades, performing a satisfyingly diverse set that spans Hollywood film scores, Broadway showtunes, and jazz standards.

Half-speed mastered from the original tapes, this 180-gram LP version allows you to not only hear but feel Jackson's vibes, which twinkle like stars.   Superb instrumental separation, proper balances, and detailed textures produce lifelike images of the bass strings and horns.   The music just floats.

1. Invitation
2. Too Close For Comfort
3. Ruby, My Dear
4. The Sealer
5. Poom-A-Loom
6. Stella By Starlight
7. Ruby
8. None Shall Wander

To Previous LPTo LP ListingTo Next LP

Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab Logo

Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab
recordings are distributed in Australia by
Rockian Trading