Cowboy Junkies
Whites Off Earth Now!!

MFSL 1-292
180 gram Audiophile LP

MFSL 1-292 Cover Gain 2 Ultra Analog Logo Numbered Limited Edition, Only 3,000 Copies 180-gram LP!

pon its release in 1986, the Cowboy Junkies' riveting debut sounded like nothing else at the time.   Gloriously, it still doesn't.   Haunting, harrowing, eerie, and gorgeous, the soft-toned album reinterprets eight classic blues in a ghostly manner that combines Delta traditions, European minimalism, roots country, and thoroughly original do-it-yourself ambience.

The album's spare approach stands as a proud contrast to the overly polished, studio-slick blues, pop, and rock efforts being mainlined out of high-tech studios.   Set up in an uncomfortably hot garage padded with carpets and materials to dampen echoes, the Cowboy Junkies gathered around a Caltrec Ambisonic Microphone and recorded direct-to-two-track.   The results are magical.   Whites Off Earth Now! is one of the most acoustically resplendent and dynamically rich records ever made.

Mastered from the original tapes by Mobile Fidelity, this numbered limited-edition 180-gram LP captures every last finite detail.   Microdynamics and sonic cues abound.

1. Shining Moon
2. State Trooper
3. Me And The Devil
4. Decoration Day
5. Baby Please Don't Go
6. I'll Never Get Out Of These Blues Alive
7. Take Me
8. Forgive Me
9. Crossroads

To Previous LPTo LP ListingTo Next LP

Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab Logo

Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab
recordings are distributed in Australia by
Rockian Trading