Madeleine Peyroux
Careless Love

MFSL 1-284
180 gram Audiophile LP

MFSL 1-284 Cover Gain 2 Ultra Analog Logo Peyroux is the real deal.   She brushes off comparisons to Billie Holiday, but it's certainly not bad company to keep.   This is a beautiful record flowing with sparse arrangements and sultry vocals.   If you like Norah … wait until you hear this!   The 12 songs found on Carless Love feature a mix of acoustic blues, country ballads and torch songs showcasing Peyroux's sultry alto. Highlights include “Dont' Wait Too Long” composed by Perouyx, producer Larry Klien (of Joni Mitchell fame) and Jesse Harris (best know for his contributions to Norah Jones' hit album, Come Away With Me).   Also exemplary are Peyroux's warm renditions of Leonard Cohen's “Dance Me to the End of Love” and a lightly-swinging arrangement of Bob Dylan's “You're Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You go.”

  1. dance me to the end of love     3:57
  2. don't wait too long     3:11
  3. don't cry baby     3:18
  4. you're gonna make me lonesome when you go     3:27
  5. between the bars     3:44
  6. no more     3:33
  1. lonesome road     3:11
  2. j'ai deux amours     2:56
  3. weary blues    3:40
  4. i'll look around     4:48
  5. careless love     3:51
  6. this is heaven to me     3:11

To Previous LPTo LP ListingTo Next LP

Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab Logo

Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab
recordings are distributed in Australia by
Rockian Trading