UDSACD 2062 Cover
    • Joel's Breakthrough 1973 Album Filled With Memorable Character Sketches.

Billy Joel's Piano Man established a legend via two elements that became a trademark of his career: simple, yet disarmingly effective lyrics that speak to universal truths and instilled feelings of pathos.   With the classic title track, Joel captures the emotions and expectations all of us – consciously or not – attach to our favorite musicians: “Sing us a song you're the piano man / Sing us a song tonight / Well we're all in the mood for a melody / And you've got us feeling alright,” he croons.   Indeed, Joel has everyone feeling good on this breakout set.

Never before properly remastered, Mobile Fidelity secured the original master tapes to present this 1973 singer-songwriter masterwork in unparalleled fidelity.   The cavity of Joel's piano, tension of the strings, and reach of his voice are astounding on this numbered limited-edition LP pressing.   The New York native finally seems as if he's playing in your room rather than down the hall.

This historic album is presented in the Super Audio Compact Disc format, which contains a CD layer and ultra-high resolution layer of music.   Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab transferred the original analog master tapes using the critically acclaimed GAIN 2TM System.

  • Packaged in Numbered Limited Edition Mini LP Style Packaging!

      1. Travelin' Prayer
      2. Piano Man
      3. Ain't No Crime
      4. You're My Home
      5. The Ballad of Billy the Kid
      6. Worse Comes to Worst
      7. Stop in Nevada
      8. If I Only Had the Words (To Tell You)
      9. Somewhere Along the Line
    10. Captain Jack

    To Previous UDSACDTo UDSACD ListingTo Next UDSACD

    Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab Logo

    Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab
    recordings are distributed in Australia by
    Rockian Trading