UDSACD 2056 Cover
    • The final record made by the band's amazing original lineup.

    • Mastered from the Original Master Tapes: Extraordinary Dynamics and Transparency

Part pop, part new-wave punk, part R&B, part soul, and 100% pure melodic rock'n'roll, Pretenders II continued to send the quartet on its quick rise to the top and still serves as an admitted inspiration for bands today.   The key to the record's enduring appeal lies in the chemistry between iconic frontwoman Chrissie Hynde and inventive guitarist James Honeyman-Scott, the male-female duo operates as an inseparable team, with one member rousing the other and driving them to greater heights.

Hynde's now-classic moody songwriting - at once tough, sexual, and disciplined as well as human, vulnerable, and romantic - and Honeyman-Scott's tasteful riffs and deep-rooted rhythms hit their peak here, particularly on edgy cuts such as “The Adultress” and “Message of Love,” but also on touching fare such as the hit rendition of the Kinks' “I Go To Sleep.”

Mobile Fidelity is honored to offer Pretenders II in the greatest sound the album has ever known.   Pristinely mastered from the original master tapes and sporting amazing improvements in dynamics, transparency, punch, imaging, and pacing, this numbered limited-edition hybrid SACD brings to life one of the 80s' true landmark recordings in a way that not only does justice to Chris Thomas' legendary production but puts Hynde and her musical soulmates in your listening room as if the four of them just got together for the first time, all over again.

This historic album is presented in the Super Audio Compact Disc format, which contains a CD layer and ultra-high resolution layer of music.   Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab transferred the original analog master tapes using the critically acclaimed GAIN 2TM System.

  • Packaged in New Numbered Limited Edition Mini LP Style Packaging!

      1. The Adultress - 3:55
      2. Bad Boys Get Spanked - 4:04
      3. Message of Love - 3:26
      4. I Go to Sleep - 2:55
      5. Birds of Paradise - 4:14
      6. Talk of the Town - 2:45
      7. Pack It Up - 3:50
      8. Waste Not Want Not - 3:43
      9. Day After Day - 3:45
    10. Jealous Dogs - 5:36
    11. The English Roses - 4:28
    12. Louie Louie - 3:30

    To Previous UDSACDTo UDSACD ListingTo Next UDSACD

    Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab Logo

    Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab
    recordings are distributed in Australia by
    Rockian Trading