UDSACD 2050 Cover
    • Blockbuster 1977 Debut Packed With Anthemic Classic Rock Hits and Heroic Guitar Riffs.
    • Feels Like the First Time: You've Never Heard Foreigner Sound So Immediate, Detailed, and Dynamic.
    • System-Testing Sonics: Remastered from the Original Master Tapes.

Spearheaded by guitar hero Mick Jones, fresh off success with Spooky Tooth, Foreigner rallied around a talented collective pulled from the U.S. and U.K. Joining up with former King Crimson instrumentalist Ian McDonald and drummer Dennis Elliott, as well as keyboardist Al Greenwood and bassist Ed Gagliardi, Jones completed the puzzle with the addition of extraordinary singer Lou Gramm, whose vocal timbre and limitless pipes remain one of the most instantly identifiable combinations in music.

In contrast to much of the era's angrier fare and crudely produced music, Foreigner stood out by way of its clean, muscular, professional production. Still, Mobile Fidelity believed that underneath the surfaces, an even fresher, bigger-sounding record loomed. Remastered from the original 1977 master tapes, MoFi's hybrid SACD presents the sextet's roof-raising anthems and scintillating blend of guitars, synths, and Gramm's soulful vocals across a wider, deeper soundstage than ever before imagined. Instrumental separation, tonal balance, and imaging are absolutely superb. Better still, the songs come across with an assertive liveliness that adds to their enjoyment, structure, and melodic character. The accessory flutes, saxophones, and synthesizer solos have never sounded so enmeshed within the overall sonic fabric.

This Super Audio Compact Disc format, which contains a CD layer and ultra-high resolution layer of music.   Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab transferred the original analog master tapes using the critically acclaimed GAIN 2TM System.

  • Packaged in New Numbered Limited Edition Mini LP Style Packaging!

      1. Feels Like the First Time (Jones) - 3:49
      2. Cold as Ice (Jones, Gramm) - 3:19
      3. Starrider (Greenwood, Jones) - 4:01
      4. Headknocker (Gramm, Jones) - 2:58
      5. The Damage Is Done (Jones, Gramm) - 4:15
      6. Long, Long Way from Home (Jones, Gramm, McDonald) - 2:53
      7. Woman Oh Woman (Jones) - 3:49
      8. At War with the World (Jones) - 4:18
      9. Fool for You Anyway (Jones) - 4:15
    10. I Need You (Gramm, Jones) - 5:09

    To Previous UDSACDTo UDSACD ListingTo Next UDSACD

    Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab Logo

    Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab
    recordings are distributed in Australia by
    Rockian Trading