UDSACD 2046 Cover
• This legendary live set features horn arrangements by Allen Toussaint

he Last Waltz gets bigger billing, but The Band's 1972 live album Rock of Ages is actually the better respresentation of a live Band album.   Recorded at the tail end of the group's Cahoots tour and over the course of four nights at New York's Academy of Music at the end of December 1971, the incendiary concert set bookmarks the close of the first phase of the collective's career.

Rather than follow the lead of most other live records made at the time (and many since), The Band resist any temptation to improvise or extend its material.   Instead, they play with an intensity, chemistry, and spirit that's nearly unrivaled by any other live album.   The quintet also draws on a secret weapon: One Allen Toussaint, who tailors expert horn arrangements for multiple songs, a move that spices renditions of classics such as “Don't Do It” and “Chest Fever”   To top it all off, the horn charts are performed by the Rock of Ages Horn Section – a five-piece ensemble that includes legendary trumpeter Snooky Young and saxophonist Joe Farrell.

This historic album is presented in the Super Audio Compact Disc format, which contains a CD layer and ultra-high resolution layer of music.
Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab transferred the original 2-track ¼" analog master tapes using the critically acclaimed GAIN 2TM System.

  • Packaged in New Numbered Limited Edition Mini LP Style Packaging!

    1. Introduction
    2. Don't Do It
    3. King Harvest (Has Surely Come)
    4. Caledonia Mission
    5. Get Up Jake
    6. The W.S. Walcott Medicine Show
    7. Stage Fright
    8. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down
    9. Across The Great Divide
    10. This Wheel's On Fire
    11. Rag Mama Rag
    12. The Weight
    13. The Shape I'm In
    14. Unfaithful Servant
    15. Life Is A Carnival
    16. The Genetic Method
    17. Chest Fever
    18. (I Don't Want To) Hang Up My Rock And Roll Shoes

    To Previous UDSACDTo UDSACD ListingTo Next UDSACD

    Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab Logo

    Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab
    recordings are distributed in Australia by
    Rockian Trading