Takin' It to the Streets


UDSACD 2043 Cover
    • Mellow 1976 Album Features Ex-Steely Dan Members Jeff “Skunk” Baxter and Michael McDonald.
    • Collector's Edition SACD Opens Transparent Window on Soulful Melodies.
Takin' It to the Streets marks a high point in the Doobie Brothers' career.   Benefitting from the breakup of Steely Dan's core band, the California group's mellowed-out 1976 album is heavily influenced by the key contributions of former Dan members Jeff Baxter and Michael McDonald.   The latter are responsible for an increase in soulful melodies and Latin-fused rhythms, which help make Takin' It to the Streets among the most enjoyably chill recordings of the era.

Mastered from the original master tapes, Mobile Fidelity's numbered limited-edition Hybrid stereo SACD captures the nuances of the splendid interplay between Baxter and McDonald, brassiness of the Memphis Horns section, and opens up a dynamic gateway to the high frequencies.   And yes, MoFi engineers made certain that the SACD tops the prior MoFi edition cut back in 1988.   The improvement is phenomenal.

This historic album is presented in the Super Audio Compact Disc format, which contains a CD layer and ultra-high resolution layer of music.   Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab transferred the original 2-track ¼" analog master tapes using the critically acclaimed GAIN 2TM System.

  • Pakaged in New Numbered Limited Edition Mini LP Style Packaging!

    1. Wheels of Fortune
    2. Takin' It to the Streets
    3. 8th Avenue Shuffle
    4. Losin' End
    5. Rio
    6. For Someone Special
    7. It Keeps You Runnin'
    8. Turn It Loose
    9. Carry Me Away

    To Previous UDSACDTo UDSACD ListingTo Next UDSACD

    Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab Logo

    Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab
    recordings are distributed in Australia by
    Rockian Trading