Art Pepper
...the way it was!


UDSACD 2034 Cover
A compilation of sorts recorded for Contemporary between 1956 and 1960, these seven tracks sat dormant in the label's vault until 1972.   It is built around four previously unreleased tunes pairing Pepper with the understated tenor of Warne Marsh.   Filling out the program are three “leftovers” from Pepper's masterpieces: Gettin' Together and Intensity (both 1960) plus Meets The Rhythm Section (1957), left off for timing limitations of vinyl.   Supported by the likes of Paul Chambers, Philly Joe Jones, Wynton Kelly, Jimmy Cobb and Red Garland, their workouts on the standards “The Man I Love”, “Autumn Leaves” and, especially, “The Way You Look Tonight” establish a brilliant east coast-meets-west coast summit.   Art's creamy alto more than holds it's own with some of New York's bop elite, resulting in a masterpiece in its own right.

  • Pakaged in New Numbered Limited Edition Mini LP Style Packaging!

      1. I Can't Believe That You're In Love With Me     5:21
      2. All The Things You Are     6:32
      3. What's New     4:03
      4. Tickle Toe     4:50
      5. The Man I Love     6:32
      6. Autumn Leaves     6:23
      7. The Way You Look Tonight     6:39
      8. I Can't Believe That You're In Love With Me (alt. take)     5:33
      9. All The Things You Are (alt. take)     6:26

    To Previous UDSACDTo UDSACD ListingTo Next UDSACD

    Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab Logo

    Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab
    recordings are distributed in Australia by
    Rockian Trading