Coleman Hawkins
The Hawk Flies High


UDSACD 2030 Cover

hirty years after the venerable tenor saxophonist rose to stardom in Fletcher Henderson's big band, Coleman Hawkins revitalized his career with “The Hawk Flies High.”   This Riverside date from March 1957 reasserted Hawkins' stature as a true and enduring jazz icon.   Personally selecting his own ensemble of trombonist J.J. Johnson, trumpeter Idrees Sulieman, pianist Hank Jones, guitarist Barry Galbraith, bassist Oscar Pettiford and drummer Jo Jones, the group swings and bops their way through six great tunes, including the lengthy “Juicy Fruit,” Gigi Gryce's “Blue Lights” and Hawkins' own soul-stirring original entitled “Sancticity.”   Another jazz staple restored and brought to full sonic fruition via Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab's proprietary GAIN 2 mastering process.

1. Chant
2. Juicy Fruit
3. Think Deep
4. Laura
5. Blue Lights
6. Sancticity

To Previous UDSACDTo UDSACD ListingTo Next UDSACD

Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab Logo

Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab
recordings are distributed in Australia by
Rockian Trading