MOFI 1-009
120 gram Silver Series Audiophile LP

MOFI 1-009 Cover Gain 2 Ultra Analog Logo
    Numbered Limited-Edition LP

    Mastered on Mobile Fidelity's World-Renowned Mastering System and Pressed at RTI
Stevie Wonder established an incredible precedent between 1971 and 1976, releasing six of the most groundbreaking, genre-blurring, genius albums ever made.   Composed and written at a time when his marriage was collapsing, the largely uplifting and eminently soulful Talking Book is arguably the best of those trailblazing records.   Wonder manages to not only to restore faith in love, he also includes smart political commentary, personal-is-political messages, empowering statements, and exorcises the frustrations associated with heartbreak.   Few efforts are more emotionally intense and consistently enriching.

Mastered on Mobile Fidelity's world-renowned mastering system and pressed at RTI (the best record plant in North America), the MoFi Silver Labels' numbered limited edition LP presents the 1972 landmark in the most transparent, warm, and natural sound the music has ever enjoyed.   Every nuance and detail is flushed out and an enmeshed part of the supremely balanced whole.   Wonder's vocals, meanwhile, are immediate and lively, the singer seemingly only several feet away, surrounded by world-class musicians.

In addition to striking diversity and passionate reach, Talking Book continues to speak to listeners nearly 40 years later because of how much of Wonder himself is invested in the songs.   With everlasting proclamations like “I Believe (When I Fall In Love It Will be Forever)” and “You and I (We Can Conquer the World”), Wonder transcends his excruciating pain and clung to the concept of love as a higher power.   Similarly, he stakes an equal part of himself in fare that confronts woe head-on (“Tuesday Heartbreak”) and reels off one of the most famous ballads in history (“You Are the Sunshine of My Life”).

Musically, Wonder is clearly tapped into a spiritual plane, the arrangements encompassing an array of moods and styles: rocking and funky (“Superstition”), mellow and poignant, grooving and exuberant.   Jeff Beck's guitar solo on “Lookin' for Another Pure Love” takes the song to a new level, and guests David Sanborn, Buzzy Fenton, and Ray Parker Jr. round out what's an almost impossibly perfectly unified album.

Don't settle for inferior-sounding versions of this visionary creation.   Silver Series' LP brings Wonder's impeccably written and performed classics to life with utmost realism and warmth.   No matter what mood you're in, Talking Book is made for you.

Side 1.
1. You Are The Sunshine Of My Life - (2:45)
2. Maybe Your Baby - (6:45)
3. You And I - (4:39)
4. Tuesday Heartbreak - (3:09)
5. You've Got It Bad Girl - (4:55)
Side 2.
1. Superstition - (4:40)
2. Big Brother - (3:35)
3. Blame It On The Sun - (3:28)
4. Lookin' For Another Pure Love - (4:45)
5. I Believe (When I Fall In Love It Will Be Forever) - (4:48)

To Previous LPTo LP ListingTo Next LP

Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab Logo

Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab
recordings are distributed in Australia by
Rockian Trading