Linn Records Banner
All Linn Records SACDs are hybrid and will play in any CD player.

Multichannel & Stereo SACD / CD

CKD536 Cover
Ysaÿe: Six Sonatas for Solo Violin, Op. 27

Frederieke Saeijs


“… The Dutch violinist impressed not only with her flawless technique and intensity of tone, but also with her mastery of a broad palette of expressive means …” - Rheinische Post

“In the middle range her Guarneri sounds mysterious and erotic, in the top range brilliant and noble.” - Westfalenpost

“With her powerful and confident playing Frederieke Saeijs creates a spectrum of sound almost like that of a full orchestra.” - Märkishe Allgemeine

• Frederieke Saeijs’ Linn debut sees the Dutch violinist realize a lifelong ambition to put her personal stamp on Ysaÿe’s homage to her chosen instrument and its celebrated virtuosos.

• With inspiration drawn from the great violin masters, Ysaÿe’s Op. 27 has in turn inspired many violinists to transcend technical boundaries and claim their own position among the greats.

• In a career-defining recording Saeijs delivers a wholly immersive performance full of colour and flair.

• Overflowing with poetry and imagination Ysaÿe’s sonatas balance thrilling pyrotechnics with lyrical expression, emotional challenges with ferocious technique.

• Utilising a broad palette of tones and dynamics Saeijs’ powerful emotional narrative captures the distinct characterisation of each dedicatee: Joseph Szigeti, Jacques Thibaud, Georges Enesco, Fritz Kreisler, Mathieu Crickboom and Manuel Quiroga.

• Saeijs performs on her beloved Guarneri violin, which is named after Queen Elisabeth of Belgium ‘Ex Reine Elisabeth’, who herself played the violin and was taught by Ysaÿe.

• Dutch violinist Frederieke Saeijs drew international attention after winning the 2005 Long-Thibaud International Violin Competition in Paris which led to concert invitations from all over the world.

• Saeijs’s solo engagements include the Beethoven Orchester Bonn, Concertgebouw Chamber Orchestra, Dortmund Philharmoniker, Orchestre National de France, New Japan Philharmonic Orchestra, Royal Scottish National Orchestra, Residentie Orchestra The Hague, Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra, Russian National Orchestra, and the St Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestra.

• Concert tours have brought Saeijs to North and South America, Asia, the Middle East, and many countries in Europe.

• Saeijs has performed live for Radio France in Montpellier and Paris, for Radio Suisse Romande in Switzerland and for Radio 4 in The Netherlands.

Eugène Ysaÿe

Sonata No. 1 in G minor (À Joseph Szigeti)

  1. Grave: Lento assai
  2. Fugato: Molto moderato
  3. Allegretto poco scherzoso: Amabile
  4. Finale con brio: Allegro fermo

Sonata No. 2 in A minor (À Jacques Thibaud)
  5. Obsession: Prelude: Poco vivace
  6. Malinconia: Poco lento
  7. Danse des ombres: Sarabande: Lento
  8. Les Furies: Allegro furioso

  9. Sonata No. 3 in D minor ‘Ballade’ (À Georges Enesco)

Sonata No. 4 in E minor (À Fritz Kreisler)
10. Allemanda: Lento maestoso
11. Sarabande: Quasi lento
12. Finale: Presto ma non troppo

Sonata No. 5 in G major (À Mathieu Crickboom)
13. L'Aurore: Lento assai
14. Danse rustique

15. Sonata No. 6 in E major (À Manuel Quiroga)

SACD, DSD and their logos are trademarks of Sony.

Linn Records Super Audio CDs
are distributed in Australia by
Rockian Trading, P.O.Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone (03) 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile (03) 9444 6879