Linn Records Banner

CKD534 Cover
Peter Maxwell Davies
An Orkney Wedding, with Sunrise

Scottish Chamber Orchestra
Ben Gernon conductor
Sean Shibe guitar


‘… a substantial, introspective and hauntingly beautiful piece, a depiction of the first stirrings of spring in Orkney.’ The Guardian

‘This music was fun, the playing of the musicians superb, and it left the audience in an excited and bedazzled celebratory mood.’ BachTrack

• The Scottish Chamber Orchestra celebrates the life and works of its much-loved Composer Laureate Sir Peter Maxwell Davies.

• Maxwell Davies was closely associated with the SCO since the 1980s, when he became its composer/conductor-in-residence; this is the last recording preceding his passing in March 2016.

• Maxwell Davies was one of the UK's foremost composers; he made a significant contribution to music with his prolific and wide-ranging output, which was celebrated with a 2014 BBC Prom devoted entirely to his works, and conducted by Ben Gernon.

• An Orkney Wedding brilliantly portrays the beauty of the rising sun after a boozy celebration, using bagpipes to close in a blaze of light.

• Maxwell Davies composed the concert overture Ebb Of Winter in 2014 to mark the SCO's 40th birthday. The hauntingly beautiful piece depicts a wintery landscape with the optimism of the coming spring.

• The two pieces for solo guitar each demonstrate the emotional frankness of Maxwell Davies's music, from the menacing flashes of Hill Runes to the unaffected tenderness of Farewell To Stromness; young guitarist Sean Shibe is the soloist.

• The Scottish Chamber Orchestra is a world-renowned orchestra; its extensive discography exceeds 150 recordings.

• The SCO has released five recordings with Robin Ticciati including symphonies by Schumann and Haydn and two multi award-winning albums of Mozart with Conductor Laureate, Sir Charles Mackerras.

• In recent years, the orchestra has travelled throughout Europe, the Far East, India and the USA.

• British conductor Ben Gernon won the internationally acclaimed Nestlé and Salzburg Festival Young Conductors Award in 2013.

• Gernon made his BBC Proms debut in the 2014 season conducting the Scottish Chamber Orchestra in music by Sir Peter Maxwell Davies.

• Sean Shibe is the first guitarist to be admitted to the prestigious BBC New Generation Artists Scheme and the only solo guitarist to have received a Borletti-Buitoni Trust Fellowship.

• A 2015 YCAT artist, Shibe's other awards include the Royal Overseas League First Prize and Gold Medal (2011), Ivor Mairants Guitar Award (2009) and D'Addarrio endorsement.

1. Concert Overture: Ebb Of Winter

    Hill Runes
2. I. Adagio - Allegro moderato
3. II. Allegro (with several changes of tempo)
4. III. Vivace scherzando
5. IV. Adagio Molto
6. V. Allegro (dying away into ‘endless’ silence)

7. Last Door Of Light

8. Farewell To Stromness

9. An Orkney Wedding, With Sunrise

Linn Records CDs
are distributed in Australia by
Rockian Trading, P.O.Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone (03) 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile (03) 9444 6879