Linn Records Banner
All Linn Records SACDs are hybrid and will play in any CD player.

Multichannel & Stereo SACD / CD

CKD500 Cover
Haydn: Symphonies Nos. 31, 70 & 101
Scottish Chamber Orchestra
Robin Ticciati


    ‘[an] exhilaratingly free performance of The Clock … the tick-tock Andante had a fragile grandeur that was disarming and poignant.’ - The Guardian

    ‘The sound was vivid and clear … there was none of that dogmatic, driven quality some chamber orchestras give to Haydn.’ - The Telegraph
• This recording is the first of two which sees Robin Ticciati and the Scottish Chamber Orchestra present an overview of Haydn’s symphonic repertoire.

• Ticciati’s approach takes the best elements of authenticity present in period performances, but with the dynamic range, space, colour and life that modern performance practice brings.

• Ticciati beautifully highlights the lines, clarity and shape of the music, a skill he brought to bear in his Schumann symphonies recording which garnered several five star reviews and accolades upon release.

• Always popular with symphony orchestras Haydn has occasionally been treated a little too ‘tidily’, but these performances are alive and excitingly fresh.

• From Haydn’s early period the Baroque influenced ‘Horn Signal’ has an almost Gothic tinged feel with highly contrapuntal elements.

• Comparatively, the first of Haydn’s famous ‘London’ Symphonies, ‘The Clock’, has its focus firmly on the future.

• Due for release in 2016, the second recording in the series will include three further ‘London’ symphonies from Haydn’s late period.

• Robin Ticciati's recordings have received many accolades: Critics’ Choice ‘Sound of 2012’ (The Independent), ‘Classical CD of the Week’ (Sunday Times), ‘Disc of the Week’ (BBC Radio 3 ‘CD Review’), two Top 10 entries in The Sunday Times’ Best Classical Albums list (2012 & 2014) and ‘Recording of the Month’ (Gramophone).

• Robin Ticciati is in his fifth season as Principal Conductor of the Scottish Chamber Orchestra.   He began his tenure as Music Director of Glyndebourne Festival Opera in May 2014.

• Gramophone named Robin one of the top ten young ‘conductors on the verge of greatness’ and one of 'Tomorrow's Icons'.

• Scottish Chamber Orchestra celebrated it fortieth anniversary year in 2014; this is its twenty third recording with Linn.

Symphony No. 31 in D Major, Hob. I:31,
‘Horn Signal’

  1. I. Allegro     7:06
  2. II. Adagio     10:20
  3. III. Menuet - Trio     4:25
  4. IV. Finale: Moderato molto - Presto     10:14

Symphony No. 70 in D Major, Hob. I.70
  5. I. Vivace con brio     4:44
  6. II. Andante     7:27
  7. III. Menuet - Trio     2:58
  8. IV. Finale: Allegro con brio     3:00

Symphony No. 101 in D Major, Hob. I:101
‘The Clock’

  9. I. Adagio - Presto     7:59
10. II. Andante     6:24
11. III. Menuet - Trio     7:37
12. IV. Finale: Vivace     4:50

Total Time     77.00

SACD, DSD and their logos are trademarks of Sony.

Linn Records Super Audio CDs
are distributed in Australia by
Rockian Trading, P.O.Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone (03) 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile (03) 9444 6879