Linn Records Banner
All Linn Records SACDs are hybrid and will play in any CD player.

Multichannel & Stereo SACD / CD

CKD479 Cover
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Scottish Chamber Orchestra Wind Soloists


    ‘Like the SCO proper, they straddle a distinctive stylistic line between period sensibility and mostly modern instruments.   The notable exception, the natural horns, which gave superb balance and character.’ The Herald

    ‘You'd be hard-put finding better wind ensemble playing … as a group, they share nuances as instinctive chamber musicians.’ The Guardian

• Following the success of performances and recordings of Weber’s Wind Concertos with SCO principals as soloists, the SCO Wind Soloists that feature on this album have since 2012 started to explore Harmoniemusik repertoire.

• Inspired by the legacy of the great Mozartian conductors of the SCO including Sir Charles Mackerras, the Wind Soloists make a fine contribution to the SCO’s distinguished Mozart discography.

• This new recording includes four of the five Tafelmusik sextets for pairs of clarinets, horns and bassoons, together with the Serenade in E flat major, the first of Mozart’s three great wind serenades.

• The Serenade in E flat major has many unusual features. Its opening fanfare - a series of repeated chords on the tonic in E flat - immediately catches the ear.

• The fact that Mozart avoids fatiguing the listener with a surfeit of the same sonorities, in music with a necessarily limited dynamic and instrumental range, bears eloquent testimony to his genius.

• This recording captures the wealth of detail in Mozart’s Divertimenti; there is something in each of them for every music lover.

• The Scottish Chamber Orchestra wind Solists comprising pairs of clarinet, bassoons and natural horns, the players are dedicated to performing each work in a stylish and informed way, from the masterpieces of Mozart, Beethoven and Weber to twentieth-century works and contemporary commissions.

• The SCO Wind Soloists are: Maximiliano Martín clarinet, William Stafford clarinet, Peter Whelan bassoon, Alison Green bassoon, Alec Frank-Gemmill horn, Harry Johnstone horn.

• The SCO Wind Soloists have appeared in chamber concerts throughout Scotland. They have also performed at the Palace of Holyroodhouse in the presence of HRH The Prince Charles.

Serenade in E flat major, K. 375
  1. Allegro maestoso
  2. Menuetto e trio
  3. Adagio
  4. Menuetto e trio
  5. Finale: Allegro

Divertimento in F major, K. 253
  6. Thema mit variationen
  7. Variation I
  8. Variation II
  9. Variation III
10. Variation IV
11. Variation V
12. Variation VI
13. Menuetto e trio
14. Allegro assai

Divertimento in B flat major, K. 270
15. Allegro molto
16. Andantino
17. Menuetto e trio
18. Presto

Divertimento in E flat major, K. 252/240a
19. Andante
20. Menuetto e trio
21. Polonaise
22. Presto assai

Divertimento in B flat major, K. 240
23. Allegro
24. Andante grazioso
25. Menuetto e trio
26. Allegro

SACD, DSD and their logos are trademarks of Sony.

Linn Records Super Audio CDs
are distributed in Australia by
Rockian Trading, P.O.Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone (03) 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile (03) 9444 6879