Linn Records Banner

CKD478 Cover
Benjamin Britten
Serenade for Tenor, Horn and Strings

Aldeburgh Strings
Markus Däunert, director
Allan Clayton, tenor
Richard Watkins, french horn


“… there is a guilty pleasure…in this vibrant account, Lorenzo Soulès having fun with the glittering piano part.” - Classical Source

“… solo tenor Allan Clayton, finely nuanced throughout, and horn player Richard Watkins, flawless, stand in their midst until the last song: Watkins' distant playing of the Epilogue is like the ghost of Britten himself, departing from his beloved Maltings.” - The Arts Desk

• This international ensemble of crack musicians reveals the next generation’s star soloists; led by violinist Markus Däunert (leader of the Mahler Chamber Orchestra), they deliver fresh and energetic performances of some of Britten’s finest music for string ensemble.

• This recording is the conclusion of projects celebrating Britten’s centenary in 2013, at which Aldeburgh Strings performed the closing concert in Britten’s musical home of Snape Maltings.

• The recording opens with Young Apollo, a radiant, expressive, characterful and dramatic work, featuring pianist Lorenzo Soulès.

• The Lachrymae subtitled ‘reflections on a song of Dowland’ explores the viola’s intensely mellow sonorities; Máté Szücs (Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra) is the soloist.

• The Prelude and Fugue finds Britten indulging in the exuberant technical wizardry of his youthful period whilst recalling Bach’s sophisticated contrapuntal textures.

• To close, one of the great masterpieces of Britten's cannon: the Serenade for Tenor, Horn and Strings. The award-winning tenor Allan Clayton and horn player Richard Watkins are the soloists, the latter reprising his role 30 years after first performing it with Peter Pears.

• The Aldeburgh Strings ensemble is a product of the Britten–Pears Young Artist Programme, founded over forty years ago by Benjamin Britten and Peter Pears, in order to provide high-level performance training for the world’s best emerging professional musicians.

• Tutors are drawn from some of the world’s finest orchestras, such as the Berlin Philharmonic, Leipzig Gewandhaus, Philharmonia and Scottish Chamber Orchestra, and direct the ensemble sections from within, in an inspiring dual role of mentor and performer.

Benjamin Britten

  1. Young Apollo, Op. 16

  2. Lachrymae, Op. 48a

Prelude and Fugue, Op. 29
  3. Prelude
  4. Fugue

Serenade for Tenor, Horn and Strings, Op. 31
  5. Prologue
  6. Pastoral
  7. Nocturne
  8. Elegy
  9. Dirge
10. Hymn
11. Sonnet
12. Epilogue

Linn Records CDs
are distributed in Australia by
Rockian Trading, P.O.Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone (03) 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile (03) 9444 6879