Linn Records Banner
All Linn Records SACDs are hybrid and will play in any CD player.

Multichannel & Stereo SACD / CD

CKD462 Cover
Symphonies 2 & 7

Thomas Søndergård
BBC National Orchestra of Wales


    ‘When the Dane came back on stage for last Saturday's encore, the wave of high-voltage intensity was spine-tingling and tangible.’ - The Herald Scotland

    ‘The standard of playing was thrillingly high and Søndergård's conducting was flowing and involving.’ - Classical Source

    ‘At the end of his first season as principal conductor, Søndergård showed just what a rapport he already has with the BBC National Orchestra of Wales.’ - The Guardian
• Thomas Søndergård's opening concert with the BBC National Orchestra of Wales, at which Sibelius was the highlight, was hailed a triumph by audiences and press alike and marked a new era for the orchestra.

• Building on this triumphant debut the 2013 BBC Proms saw Søndergård and a reinvigorated BBC NOW win over the critics with their charismatic performance and formidable interpretations.

• Stating his intentions the new Principal Conductor was clear: ‘I can't wait to discover Sibelius all over again with my new orchestra’.

• With their nationalist themes Symphonies 2 & 7 are perfect repertoire for Søndergård and his orchestra to make their symphonic recording debut.

• Symphony No. 2 marked a major step in Sibelius' development as a composer, and remains one of his most popular works.

• Symphony No. 7 is notable for being a one-movement symphony and is completely original in form, subtle in its handling of tempi, individual in its treatment of key and is considered Sibelius’ most remarkable compositional achievement.

• Danish conductor Thomas Søndergård is Principal Conductor of BBC NOW and Principal Guest Conductor of Royal Scottish National Orchestra; a rare honour to hold titled positions with two major British orchestras.

• In recent years he has made successful debuts with the Gothenburg, Atlanta, Brussels, Oslo and Luxembourg Philharmonic and the Seattle and Houston and Symphony Orchestras.

• Søndergård is also an experienced opera conductor and has appeared at the Royal Danish and Royal Swedish Operas and the Stuttgart Staatsoper.

• The BBC NOW presents an annual season at St David's Hall, Cardiff, where it is Orchestra-in-Residence, as well as concerts in venues across Wales; including annual performances at the BBC Proms and biannually at BBC Cardiff Singer of the World.

Jean Sibelius

Symphony No. 2 in D Major, Op. 43
1.   I. Allegretto     9:29
2.  II. Tempo Andante, ma rubato     13:51
3. III. Vivacissimo     5:55
4. IV. Finale: Allegro moderato     12:38

Symphony No. 7 in C major, Op.105
5. Adagio - Vivacissimo - Allegro moderato     20:33

    Total Time 62:00

SACD, DSD and their logos are trademarks of Sony.

Linn Records Super Audio CDs
are distributed in Australia by
Rockian Trading, P.O.Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone (03) 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile (03) 9444 6879