Linn Records Banner
All Linn Records SACDs are hybrid and will play in any CD player.

Multichannel & Stereo SACD / CD

CKD421 Cover
Les nuits d’été & La Mort de Cléopâtre

Scottish Chamber Orchestra
Robin Ticciati (conductor)


    “The clarity, coordination and spectrum of colour in the orchestra are spot-on for Berlioz.” - Gramophone (on Berlioz: Symphonie Fantastique)
    “Robin Ticciati, has lost no time in presenting his credentials as an outstanding Berliozian.” - The Sunday Times (on Berlioz: Symphonie Fantastique)
• Robin Ticciati cements his reputation as an outstanding Berliozian with his latest recording, &145;Berlioz: Les nuits d’été’, which includes excerpts from Roméo & Juliette and La Mort de Cléopàtre.

• A pupil of Sir Simon Rattle and the great Berliozian Sir Colin Davis, Robin's reputation as one of this generations best conductors was assured when he was announced as the next music director of Glyndebourne, taking over from Vladimir Jurowski in 2014.

• Named one of the top ten young ‘conductors on the verge of greatness’ by Gramophone Magazine, Robin delivers fresh insights and vivid colours into this luminous work.

• The recording features Kathleen Ferrier prize-winning mezzo-soprano Karen Cargill, who has sung at the Metropolitan Opera, New York and won acclaim as Cleopatra, a role she reprises here: “… the core of this stunning concert was a shattering, heart-rending performance by Cargill in awesome voice.” (The Herald)

• The works of Berlioz have featured prominently in Ticciati's programmes with the Scottish Chamber Orchestra since he became their principal conductor in 2009.

• Ticciati's recording debut, ‘Berlioz: Symphonie Fantastique’, received rave reviews: it was named Critics' Choice ‘Sound of 2012’ (The Independent), “Classical CD of the Week’ (The Sunday Times), 'Disc of the Week' (BBC Radio 3 CD Review) and No. 3 in The Sunday Times' Best Classical Albums of 2012 list.

• The Scottish Chamber Orchestra is internationally recognised as one of the finest chamber orchestras in the world with a multi award-winning catalogue of recordings under Robin Ticciati, Sir Charles Mackerras, Alexander Janiczek and Joseph Swensen.

Hector Berlioz

Les nuits d'été, Op. 7
1. Villanelle     2:18
2. Le spectre de la rose     6:12
3. Sur les lagunes     5:50
4. Absence     4:45
5. Au cimetière     5:32
6. L'île inconnue     3:56

Roméo & Juliette
7. Scène d'amour     16:48

La Mort de Cléopâtre
8. Scène lyrique     9:57
9. Meditation     10:07

    Total Time     65:48

SACD, DSD and their logos are trademarks of Sony.

Linn Records Super Audio CDs
are distributed in Australia by
Rockian Trading, P.O.Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone (03) 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile (03) 9444 6879