Linn Records Banner
All Linn Records SACDs are hybrid and will play in any CD player.

Multichannel & Stereo SACD / HDCD

CKD420 Cover
Katherine Bryan plays Flute Concertos
by Christopher Rouse and Jacques Ibert

Katherine Bryan flute
Royal Scottish National Orchestra
Jac van Steen


    “Bryan's articulation in the last movement is phenomenally clear, and she also plays with a strong sense of direction and characterizes phrases with an impressive range of colour.” - International Record Review
    “ … when you have the virtuoso playing of Ms. Bryan, the excellent support of the Royal Scottish National Orchestra you have a really winning product.” - Audiophile Audition
• Young flautist Katherine Bryan is rapidly establishing her place as one of Britain's bright musical stars of the future.

• For her second recording on Linn, the in-demand concerto soloist performs a selection of 20th century concertos plus Debussy's Syrinx and Frank Martin's Ballade.

• The Flute Concerto by American composer Christopher Rouse is among his most successful and widely performed works since its debut in 1994.   Rouse's concerto calls for astonishing pyrotechnics for both the flute and the orchestra; Katherine is able to showcase the sheer quality of her technique and her playing.

• French composer Jacques Ibert's Concerto for Flute and Orchestra is one of the best-loved and most frequently performed concertos in the flute repertoire.   Full of humour, virtuosity and intense technical challenges for the soloist, it is characteristic of Ibert's eclectic, versatile compositional style.

• Despite being only a little over three minutes long, Debussy's Syrinx has achieved iconic status and is regarded as an essential piece in any serious flautist's repertoire.

• Martin's Ballade features wide harmonic leaps and tests the full range of the instrument, not least with a memorable section for the low register which sees Katherine relish the challenge.

• Katherine Bryan is a rising star having appearing as concerto soloist with leading orchestras worldwide, as well as being principal flautist with the RSNO.

• Katherine has appeared at major international festivals as both concerto soloist and recitalist.   She has given live broadcasts on Classic FM, BBC Radio 3 and BBC television.

• Katherine was a prize-winner at the Royal Overseas League Music Competition in London, the Young Concert Artists International Competition in New York and was a finalist in the BBC Young Musician of the Year for three consecutive competitions.   She was also awarded the Julius Isserlis Scholarship by the Royal Philharmonic Society.great acclaim for his interpretations of Bach's keyboard music: “Pienaar produces a breathless, highly energised reading,” Gramophone on his Goldberg Variations.

Christopher Rouse (b.1949)
Flute Concerto (1993)
  1.    I. Amhrán     4:09
  2.   II. Alla Marcia     4:24
  3.  III. Elegia     10:30
  4. IV. Scherzo     4:51
  5.  V. Amhrán     5:50

Jacques Ibert (1890-1962)
Concerto for Flute and Orchestra (1934)
  6.    I. Allegro     4:51
  7.   II.Andante     7:91
  8.  III. Allegro scherzando     9:04

Claude Debussy (1862-1918)
  9. Syrinx (1913)     3:21

Frank Martin (1890-1974)
10. Ballade (1939)     8:19

      Total Time 64:15

SACD, DSD and their logos are trademarks of Sony.

Linn Records Super Audio CDs
are distributed in Australia by
Rockian Trading, P.O.Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone (03) 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile (03) 9444 6879