Linn Records Banner
All Linn Records SACDs are hybrid and will play in any CD player.

Multichannel & Stereo SACD / CD

CKD415 Cover
Zelenka Sonatas

Ensemble Marsyas
with Monica Huggett


    ‘Bassoonist Peter Whelan combines agility with lyricism and laid-back grace.’ Gramophone

    ‘Huggett's playing shines with ease and expression.’ The Times

• Ensemble Marsyas’ debut recording on Linn features three of the extraordinary trio sonatas by the Bohemian composer Jan Dismas Zelenka (1679-1745) for violin, two oboes, bassoon and continuo on period instruments.

• These sonatas represent the most spectacularly challenging music ever written for wind instruments in terms of their utopian demands on the technique of the players, their musical integrity and their breathtaking scale.

• This repertoire saw the ensemble awarded both first prize and the audience prize at the 2007 Brugge International Competition.

• The Edinburgh based chamber group comprises the best of a new generation of musicians specializing in early music from across Europe.

• Ensemble Marsyas is Peter Whelan - bassoon, Josep Domènech Lafont - oboe, Molly Marsh - oboe, Thomas Dunford - theorbo, Philippe Grisvard - harpsichord/organ, Christine Sticher - violone.

• They are joined for this recording by Baroque violinist Monica Huggett who is currently head of historical performance at the Juilliard School in New York and a multiple Gramophone Award winner and Grammy nominee.

• The members of Ensemble Marsyas have been awarded accolades by both critics and the recording industry alike - the most recent including a 2010 Gramophone Award for a recording featuring Peter Whelan.

Jan Dismas Zelenka (1679 - 1745)

      Sonata V in F Major ZWV. 181/5
  1. [Allegro]     6.51
  2. [Adagio]     3.06
  3. Allegro     6.17

      Sonata III in B-flat Major ZWV. 181/3
  4. Adagio     3.27
  5. Allegro     4.02
  6. Largo     2.55
  7. Tempo giusto - Allegro     4.47

      Sonata VI in C minor ZWV. 181/6
  8. [Andante]     3.03
  9. [Allegro]     4.07
10. Adagio     2.39
11. [Allegro]     5.03

12. Andante from Simphonie à 8 Concertanti in A minor ZWV. 189     2.58

      Total Time     49.43

SACD, DSD and their logos are trademarks of Sony.

Linn Records Super Audio CDs
are distributed in Australia by
Rockian Trading, P.O.Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone (03) 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile (03) 9444 6879