Linn Records Banner
All Linn Records SACDs are hybrid and will play in any CD player.

Multichannel & Stereo SACD / CD

CKD410 Cover
J.S. Bach:
Harpsichord Concertos

Retrospect Ensemble
Matthew Halls
(harpsichord / director)


    ‘Halls reveals … needle-sharp precision, stylistic awareness and suitably restrained flamboyance.’ The Scotsman

    “[Halls displays] a natural grace and refinement, and a lightness of touch and delicacy of ornamentation.’ IRR

    “The Retrospect Ensemble's orchestral playing is of the highest quality …’ Gramophone

• Having wowed the critics with its 2011 recording of “J.S. Bach: Easter and Ascension Oratorios” Retrospect Ensemble returns with Bach's Harpsichord Concertos.

• Director Matthew Halls takes on the role of soloist, having proved both his keyboard virtuosity and affinity with Bach's harpsichord music in his debut solo recording, ‘J.S. Bach: Goldberg Variations’, which IRR named ‘Outstanding’.

• Bach's harpsichord concertos are full of dazzling virtuosic passages and incredible solo cadenzas; they showcase his natural flair for contrapuntal and chromatic colour and feature re-worked old favourites.

• In 2010 the 36-year-old was announced as The Oregon Bach Festival's next artistic director, due to his ‘international reputation in the worlds of choral and early music [and] consummate skill as a Bach interpreter.’ He shall assume the role in 2013.

• Founded by Matthew Halls, Retrospect Ensemble takes its musicians and audiences on an exciting journey, exploring the repertoire of four centuries and embracing the practices, styles and aesthetics of former ages with renewed vigour and a fresh approach.

• Retrospect has performed at concerts across Europe and the Far East and has established an exciting partnership with the Korean National Opera.

• Matthew Halls has established himself as one of today’s leading young conductors.   A former Artistic Director of The King's Consort, he has conducted in prominent venues including the Concertgebouw, Amsterdam; the Cité de la Musique, Paris; and the Palais des Beaux Arts, Brussels.

Concerto VI in F major, BWV 1057
1. Allegro     7.05
2. Andante     4.04
3. Allegro assai     5.02

Concerto in G minor, BWV 1058
4. Allegro     3.39
5. Andante     5.58
6. Allegro assai     3.32

Concerto I in D minor, BWV 1052
7. Allegro     7.13
8. Adagio     6.09
9. Allegro     3.32

Concerto IV in A major, BWV 1055
10. Allegro     4.11
11. Larghetto     5.01
12. Allegro ma non tanto     4.10

      Total Time 64.24

SACD, DSD and their logos are trademarks of Sony.

Linn Records Super Audio CDs
are distributed in Australia by
Rockian Trading, P.O.Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone (03) 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile (03) 9444 6879