Linn Records Banner
All Linn Records SACDs are hybrid and will play in any CD player.

Multichannel & Stereo SACD / HDCD

CKD367 Cover
Liebermann Concerto for Flute and Orchestra
and works by Hüe, Poulenc and Nielsen

Katherine Bryan - flute
Royal Scottish National Orchestra, Paul Daniel - conductor


    “A great British hope…a rising star in the arts firmament.” - The Times
Young flautist Katherine Bryan is rapidly confirming her place as one of Britain's bright musical stars of the future.   For her recital debut the in-demand concerto soloist performs a selection of 20th century concertos, including the rarely recorded Liebermann Concerto for Flute and Orchestra.

• The Liebermann concerto has rarely been recorded in its entirety.   Commissioned and originally performed by James Galway, the concerto is considered one of the most substantial and significant additions to the flute repertoire in recent years.

• Considered “a flautist's dream composer” (BBC Music Magazine) Liebermann's writing is full of optimistic, audience-friendly and tuneful melodies with rapid-fire fingering passages that showcase the technical prowess of the soloist.

• The inclusion of works by Hüe, Nielsen and Poulenc in the programme shows the particular diversity of the flute, demonstrating the variety of repertoire composed for the instrument during the twentieth century.   Katherine's most recent performance of the Nielsen Concerto with the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra received rave reviews.

• Katherine Bryan is a rising star having appearing as concerto soloist with leading orchestras worldwide, as well as being principal flautist with the RSNO.

• As both concerto soloist and recitalist she has performed with the Helsinki Philharmonic, Nurnberger Symphoniker, New York Philharmonic and spent the summers of 2001 and 2002 in Japan with the Pacific Music Festival Orchestra working with conductors including Charles Dutoit.

• Katherine was a prize-winner at the Royal Overseas League Music Competition in London, the Young Concert Artists International Competition in New York and was a finalist in the BBC Young Musician of the Year for three consecutive competitions. She was also awarded the Julius Isserlis Scholarship by the Royal Philharmonic Society.

Lowell Liebermann
Concerto for Flute and Orchestra Op. 39

  1. I. Moderato     11:51
  2. II. Molto adagio     07:36
  3. III. Presto     05:07

Georges Hüe
  4. Fantaisie     07:44

Francis Poulenc
Flute Sonata Op. 164

  5. I. Allegro malinconico     04:48
  6. II. Cantilena: Assez lent     04:10
  7. III. Presto giocoso     03:42

Carl Nielsen
Flute Concerto, FS 119

  8. I. Allegro moderato     11:31
  9. II. Allegretto     07:12

      TOTAL RUNNING TIME     64.11

SACD, DSD and their logos are trademarks of Sony.

Linn Records Super Audio CDs
are distributed in Australia by
Rockian Trading, P.O.Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone (03) 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile (03) 9444 6879