Linn Records Banner
All Linn Records SACDs are hybrid and will play in any CD player.

Multichannel & Stereo SACD / HDCD

CKD348 Cover
Philippe Rogier
Polychoral Works

Philip Cave - conductor
His Majestys Sagbutts and Cornetts


    “A sublime blend of voices.” - Gramophone
    “A thick and rich sound which creates a vivid performance.” - The Independent on Sunday
    “The performances are guaranteed to refresh even the most jaded palate.” - Early Music Review

• Magnificat is one of the world's premier vocal ensembles whose recordings have met with huge critical acclaim: Thomas Tallis' Spem in alium was hailed as “quite the best recording” by Gramophone Magazine and was First Choice in Building A Library on BBC Radio 3's CD Review.   In addition their recording of Victoria's Officium Defunctorum was named Critics' Choice by Gramophone Magazine and chosen by The Rough Guide as one of its 100 Essential Classical CDs.

• Featuring three premiere recordings of newly discovered works: Rogier's motets Domine Dominus noster, Laudate Dominum and Missa Domine in virtute tua.

• This recording, celebrating the 450th anniversary of Rogier's birth, is a kaleidoscope of sound, with up to 12 choral parts plus instrumental forces including His Majestys Sagbutts and Cornetts, organ and harp.

• One of the last great renaissance composers, Rogier's music showcases the rich, contrapuntal renaissance style, full of lush textures and colour for which he is renowned.

• Directed by Philip Cave, Magnificat specialises in the restoration and performance of neglected choral masterpieces of the 16th and 17th centuries.

• In association with Linn Records, Magnificat has undertaken many highly successful recording projects of music from 'The Golden Age', including works by Gesualdo, Guerrero, Josquin, Rebelo, Victoria, Allegri, Tallis, Rogier and Palestrina.

• His Majestys Sagbutts and Cornetts is a group of virtuoso wind players who specialise in playing renaissance and baroque music, bringing historically informed performance to life with style and vitality.

Philippe Rogier
      Domine Dominus noster
  1. Motet:     5:53

      Missa Domine Dominus noster
  2. Kyrie eleison     2:01
  3. Gloria in excelsis     5:16
  4. Credo in unum Deum     8:35
  5. Sanctus     1:41
  6. Agnus Dei     2:28

  7. Regina Caeli     3:12

  8. Laudate Dominum     3:42

Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina
      Domine in virtute tua
  9. Motet     6:44

Philippe Rogier
      Missa Domine in virtute tua
10. Kyrie eleison     3:25
11. Gloria in excelsis     4:37
12. Credo in unum Deum     8:35
13. Sanctus     2:05
14. Agnus Dei     1:37

15. Videntes stellam magi     6:29

16. Verbum caro factum est     6:51

SACD, DSD and their logos are trademarks of Sony.

Linn Records Super Audio CDs
are distributed in Australia by
Rockian Trading, P.O.Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone (03) 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile (03) 9444 6879