Linn Records Banner
All Linn Records SACDs are hybrid and will play in any CD player.

Multichannel & Stereo SACD / HDCD

CKD346 Cover
Franz Lehár
Love was a Dream

Alfie Boe (tenor)
Orchestra of Scottish Opera
Michael Rosewell


    “His performances have charm and grace, his singing is secure and polished, and his engaging personality make him as popular in the business as he is with the public.” - The Telegraph
The award-winning star of the ENO and Covent Garden, Alfie Boe, has signed with Linn Records to record his labour of love; an album of Franz Lehár songs inspired by the recordings of Richard Tauber, his father's favourite singer.

• Franz Lehár (1870 - 1948) wrote some of the most instantly recognisable and beautiful music in 20th century operetta producing songs that are charmingly lyrical and incredibly melodic.

• Growing up listening to Richard Tauber Alfie discovered less frequently recorded repertoire full of Lehár's trademark drama and romance, included here alongside songs from the famously popular Merry Widow.

• Alfie recorded “Franz Lehár” at Glasgow's Royal Concert Hall with the respected Orchestra of Scottish Opera and conductor Michael Rosewell, resulting in a delightfully live, cohesive sound.

• Alfie Boe's incredible voice has won him many awards: a Tony Award for his performance on Broadway, the John McCormack Young Voice Award and the Lyric Tenor of the World Audience Award.   He was also the only artist to be nominated in two categories at the 2008 Classical BRIT awards.

• He has performed to critical acclaim at the Opera National du Rhin, Strasbourg and La Monnaie, Brussels.   In concert Alfie has performed with the Philharmonia Orchestra, RLPO, LPO, Ulster Orchestra, RPO, Kristiansand Symfoniorkester, San Francisco Symphony Orchestra and Boston Symphony Orchestra.

  1. Just believe it's true   (Love Sets the Seal)     2:56
  2. Vilia   (The Merry Widow)     5:01
  3. Girls were made to love and kiss   (Paganini)     3:07
  4. Oh maiden, my maiden   (Frederica)     3:51
  5. You are my heart's delight   (The Land of Smiles)     3:31
  6. Love was a dream   (Giuditta)     3:57
  7. Beautiful Italy   (Paganini)     2:05
  8. Patiently smiling   (The Land of Smiles)     4:41
  9. Love unspoken   (The Merry Widow)     3:21
10. Friends, this is the life for me!   (Giuditta)     3:05
11. Beneath the window   (The Land of Smiles)     3:48
12. Farewell, my love, farewell   (Frasquita)     3:52

       TOTAL RUNNING TIME     44.00

SACD, DSD and their logos are trademarks of Sony.

Linn Records Super Audio CDs
are distributed in Australia by
Rockian Trading, P.O.Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone (03) 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile (03) 9444 6879