Linn Records Banner
All Linn Records SACDs are hybrid and will play in any CD player.

Multichannel & Stereo SACD / HDCD

CKD330 Cover
Igor Stravinsky
Apollon Musagète & Pulcinella Suite

Chamber Orchestra of Europe
Alexander Janiczek - director


    “The best chamber orchestra in the world.”
    - Daily Telegraph
• The Chamber Orchestra Europe deliver the “wonderful freshness” Stravinsky himself envisioned in Apollon Musagète with their bright and spirited performance.   The Guardian commented: “In Stravinsky's Apollon Musagète each and every player contributed to the distinctive, rich-toned sonority.”

• The Pulcinella Suite is a ballet based on some of Pergolesi's most memorable music.   The Chamber Orchestra Europe has recorded the more unusual 1949 'revised' version of the 1922 concert suite which is in eight sections and performed without voices.   The Independent commented: “Stravinsky's Pulcinella Suite brimmed over with the energy and insight of first-rate musicians discovering every opportunity such sunny music offered them.”

• The Chamber Orchestra Europe recorded this album at Église Maronite Notre-Dame Du Liban, Paris, in November 2008.   They performed this Stravinsky programme at Cité de la musique, Paris, Konzerthaus, Vienna and Philharmonie, Luxembourg to widespread critical acclaim.

• The Chamber Orchestra of Europe is a multi-award winning orchestra having won three Gramophone 'Record of the Year' awards, the 'Best Classical Vocal Performance' category in the annual Grammy Awards (2004), and the Midem 2008 'Classical Download' Award.

• The Chamber Orchestra Europe have partnerships with some of the most prominent concert halls in Europe such as the Cité de la Musique in Paris, the Alte Oper in Frankfurt, and the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam as well as the concert halls in Baden-Baden, Bonn, Budapest, Brussels, Cologne, Luxembourg, Toulouse, Vienna and many more.

• Alexander Janiczek expertly directs the COE contributing to the distinctive, rich-toned sonority of the string section.   He has performed with many of Europe's leading orchestras including the Budapest Festival Orchestra, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestras and the Bavarian Radio Orchestra, SWR Radio Sinfonieorchester Stuttgart and Bavarian State Opera, Munich.

Apollon musagéte
  1. Naissance d'Apollon     5.07
  2. Variation d'Apollon     2.51
  3. Pas d'action     4.45
  4. Variation de Colliope     1.23
  5. Variation de Polymnie     1.25
  6. Variation de Terpsichore     1.33
  7. Variation d'Apollon     2.25
  8. Pas de deux     4.05
  9. Coda (Apollon et les Muses)     3.34
10. Apothéose     3.49

Pulcinella Suite
11.      I Sinfonia     1.59
12.     II Serenata     3.06
13.    III a: Scherzino     l.52
14.    III b: Allegro     l.02
15.    III c: Andantino     l.28
16.   IV Tarantella     1.56
17.    V Toccata     0.58
18.   VI Gavotta     4.01
19.  VII Vivo     1.38
20. VIII a: Menuetto     2.40
21. VIII b: Finale     2.09

      TOTAL RUNNING TIME     54.00

SACD, DSD and their logos are trademarks of Sony.

Linn Records Super Audio CDs
are distributed in Australia by
Rockian Trading, P.O.Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone (03) 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile (03) 9444 6879