Linn Records Banner
All Linn Records SACDs are hybrid and will play in any CD player.

Hybrid Multichannel & Stereo SACD / HDCD

CKD329 Cover
Kenneth Leighton: Earth, Sweet Earth
(laudes terrae)
Benjamin Britten: Winter Words

James Gilchrist - tenor
Anna Tilbrook - piano

CKD 329

SACD sticker
    “As an interpreter of English song, Gilchrist is often in a class by himself.”
    The Times
Tenor James Gilchrist adds to his widely acclaimed series of albums celebrating British song with this programme by Kenneth Leighton and Benjamin Britten. Alongside pianist Anna Tilbrook, Gilchrist excels in a programme that includes the first modern recording of Leighton's Earth, Sweet Earth and Britten's popular and touching song cycle Winter Words.

• Leighton's Earth, Sweet Earth was commissioned in memory of Peter Pears - tenor and life-long partner of Benjamin Britten. This is the first modern recording of this work since the original recording by Neil Mackie for whom the work was written.

• Earth, Sweet Earth requires astonishing virtuosity from both vocalist and pianist; the piano taking on an almost orchestral role in settings of text by Ruskin and Hopkins.

• Britten wrote Winter Words for Peter Pears. Set to eight poems by Thomas Hardy, this is the composer's most popular song set. James Gilchrist emotively conveys one of Britten's favourite themes: the conflict between innocence and experience.

• Gilchrist has established a reputation as the leading figure in English song interpretation following countless concert performances of works by Vaughan Williams, Britten, Finzi, Warlock and Leighton.

• James Gilchrist is in demand as a recitalist and chorus member and has performed with The Sixteen in Japan, the Tonhalle Orchestra in Zürich and at the Salzburg Festival, with the North Carolina Symphony Orchestra in Boston and with the Concert Spirituel in London, Luxemburg and Paris.

• Pianist Anna Tilbrook (“An eloquent partner.” Daily Telegraph) displays her substantial talents as an accompanist providing flawless support to long-term performing partner James.

Kenneth Leighton:
Earth, Sweet Earth (Laudes Terrae), Op. 94

  1.   I. Prelude -
          There was no thought in any of us     11:27
  2.  II. Inversnaid     04:58
  3. III. Contemplation - In the snow     05:08
  4. IV. The Ashtree     02:12
  5.  V. Binsey Poplars     05:31
  6. VI. Hurrahing in Harvest     03:25
  7. VII. Ribblesdale     07:42

Benjamin Britten:
Winter Words, Op. 52

  8.   I. At Day-close in November     01:33
  9.  II. Midnight on the Great Western     05:18
10. III. Wagtail and Baby     02:08
11. IV. The Little Old Table     01:24
12.  V. The Choirmaster's Burial     04:21
13. VI. Proud Songsters 'Thrushes, Finches
      and Nightingales'     01:04
14. VII. At the Railway Station, Upway     03:34
15. VIII. Before Life and After     03:47

      Total Running Time     63:46

SACD, DSD and their logos are trademarks of Sony.

Linn Records Super Audio CDs
are distributed in Australia by
Rockian Trading, P.O.Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone (03) 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile (03) 9444 6879