Linn Records Banner
All Linn Records SACDs are hybrid and will play in any CD player.

Hybrid Multichannel & Stereo SACD / HDCD

CKD314 Cover


CKD 314

SACD sticker
• Released to celebrate the centenary of the composer's birth, this new recording of Messiaen's chamber works, including the premiere recording of Fantaisie, is a comprehensive collection with highly informative booklet notes by Messiaen expert Nigel Simeone.

• Quatour pour la fin du Temps, written and premiered in a POW camp, is one of the most remarkable works to have come out of World War II. The Ensemble powerfully conveys its apocalyptic inspiration and message of faith.

• Includes the first recording of Fantaisie, a work for violin and piano, thought to be lost until it was rediscovered by Yvonne Loriod-Messiaen and then published in 2007.

• The Theme and Variations was Messiaen's first piece of instrumental chamber music and was considered by the composer to be one of his best.

• The Hebrides Ensemble has built a reputation as Scotland's foremost chamber group, touring frequently throughout Scotland, appearing at international music festivals and broadcasting regularly on BBC Radio 3.

• The success of The Ensemble has led to its Wigmore Hall debut in May 2008 by celebrating the 100th anniversary of the births of both Olivier Messiaen and Elliott Carter. The concert also marks the launch of “Olivier Messiaen: Chamber Works”.

• William Conway has established a successful dual career as cellist and conductor worldwide and was recently presented with a Scottish Society of Composers Award for “an outstanding contribution to the promotion of contemporary music”.
    “Olivier Messiaen: Chamber Works” marries the chamber works of one of the finest 20th century composers with the renowned interpretive skills of contemporary music specialists the Hebrides Ensemble.
    “Currently Scotland's most exciting mixed chamber ensemble specialising in contemporary music.”
    - The Scotsman
William Conway - artistic director, cello
Alexander Janiczek - violin
Sarah Bevan Baker - violin
Catherine Marwood - viola
Rosemary Elliot - flute
Maximiliano Martin - clarinet
Philip Moore - piano
Quatuor pour la fin du Temps (Quartet for the end of Time)
  1. I   Liturgie de cristal (Liturgy of crystal)     2:42
  2. II  Vocalise, pour l'Ange qui announce la fin du Temps
          (Vocalise for the Angel who announces the end of Time)     4:34
  3. III Abîme des oiseaux (The Abyss of the birds)     6:52
  4. IV Intermède (Interlude)     1:43
  5. V  Louange à l'Éternité de Jésus (Praise to the Eternity of Jesus)     7:35
  6. VI Danse de la fureur pour les sept trompettes (Dance of fury, for the seven trumpets)     6:10
  7. VII Fouillis d'arcs-en-ciel, pour l'Ange qui annonce la fin du Temps
          (Cluster of rambows, for the Angel who announces the end of Time)     7:02
  8. VIII Louange à l'Immortalité de Jésus (Praise to the immortality af Jesus)     8:32

  9. Thème et variations     10:40

10. Pièce pour piano et quatuor à cordes     3:16

11. Fantaisie     6:16

12. Le Merle noir     6:06

SACD, DSD and their logos are trademarks of Sony.

Linn Records Super Audio CDs
are distributed in Australia by
Rockian Trading, P.O.Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone (03) 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile (03) 9444 6879