Linn Records Banner
All Linn Records SACDs are hybrid and will play in any CD player.

Multichannel & Stereo SACD / HDCD

CKD308 Cover
Hybrid Multichannel Super Audio CD / HDCD - 2 Disc Set

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Symphonies 38, 39, 40 & 41

Scottish Chamber Orchestra
Sir Charles Mackerras


• This eagerly anticipated addition to the Scottish Chamber Orchestra series sees Mozart specialist Sir Charles Mackerras deliver a truly memorable recording of Mozart's four last symphonies.

• Sir Charles's fruitful partnership with the SCO has been evident since their highly successful recording of “Mozart Requiem“ (CKD 211) was received to wide critical acclaim in 2003. Their special relationship and musical synchronicity makes “Mozart Symphonies Nos 38 - 41“ equally exhilarating.

• The 'Vienna' Symphonies show Mozart at his most diverse, both in musical content and in orchestral colouration.

• Notable firsts include Mozart's use of clarinets rather then traditional oboes as the main woodwind instrument in Symphony No 39 and the introduction of a new orchestral colour in the form of muted violins in the 'Jupiter'.

• Sir Charles Mackerras, the SCO's Conductor Laureate, has produced numerous award-winning recordings, performed fifty times at the Edinburgh Festival and in 2005 was the first recipient of the 'Queen's Medal for Music'.

• The Orchestra has a large international fan base following recent performances in Spain, Belgium, Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Spain, the USA, Portugal and the Netherlands.

• The SCO's previous Mozart recordings have been critically acclaimed; “Mozart Serenades“ and “Mozart Wind Concertos“ each consistently received four and five star reviews and BBC Music Magazine named Sir Charles Mackerras's “Mozart Requiem“ a 'Benchmark Recording' in January 2007.

DISC ONE:     66:49
Symphony No. 38 in D (Prague), K.504
  1.   i Adagio-Allegro     17:44
  2.  ii Andante     11:18
  3. iii Finale: Presto     7:45

Symphony No. 39 in E flat, K.543
  4.   i Adagio-Allegro     9:50
  5.  ii Andante con moto     8:02
  6. iii Menuetto (Allegretto) & Trio     4:21
  7. iv Finale: Allegro     7:49

DISC TWO:     72:29
Symphony No. 40 in G minor, K.550
  1.   i Molto allegro     7:07
  2.  ii Andante     13:25
  3. iii Menuetto: Allegretto     4:03
  4. iv Finale: Allegro assai     9:26

Symphony No. 41 in C (Jupiter), K.551
  5.   i Allegro vivace     11:28
  6.  ii Andante cantabile     10:27
  7. iii Menuetto: Allegretto     5:03
  8. iv Molto allegro     11:30

SACD, DSD and their logos are trademarks of Sony.

Linn Records Super Audio CDs
are distributed in Australia by
Rockian Trading, P.O.Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone (03) 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile (03) 9444 6879