Linn Records Banner
All Linn Records SACDs are hybrid and will play in any CD player.

Multichannel & Stereo SACD / HDCD

CKD293 Cover
Hybrid Multichannel Super Audio CD / HDCD


Scheherazade Op.35
Sadko Op.5
Capriccio Espagnol Op.34

Artur Pizarro
Vita Panomariovaite


• Celebrated pianist Artur Pizarro combines his extensive experience with that of his pupil and friend Vita Panomariovaite, herself an award-winning pianist, to produce an album of rarely recorded Rimsky Korsakov arrangements for piano duo.

• Widely considered one of Rimsky-Korsakov's finest orchestral works, Scheherazade is equally engaging and thrilling arranged for two pianos. The famous Arabian Nights story is clearly brought to life in the composer's own arrangement.

• Sadko, written while Rimsky-Korsakov was in the Navy, is clearly inspired by the sea and was an instant hit; upon hearing it Borodin declared it “a delight.”   The arrangement, by Rimsky-Korsakov's wife (herself a talented pianist), retains the colours and moods of the original orchestral work.

• The Capriccio Espagnol is a Spanish-themed fantasy originally for orchestra, which the composer arranged for piano duo. Colourful and exotic this is an exceptional arrangement.

• As a piano duo Artur (secondo) and Vita (primo) have performed across the UK in a concert series that was broadcast on BBC Radio 3 and stations in Poland, Portugal, Norway and Belgium.

• Renowned for his lyrical poeticism and outstanding virtuosity, Artur Pizarro has performed critically acclaimed concerts in Singapore, Norway, Spain, Portugal, Denmark, Brussels and Germany.

• Lithuanian born pianist Vita Panomariovaite has won the Citta di Sulmona competition in Italy, the Ville de Brest competition in France and was a prizewinner in the Joaquin Rodrigo International Piano Competition in Madrid.

• Two talented pianists bring their combined skill and virtuosity to bear on three popular and colourful arrangements of Rimsky Korsakov's finest orchestral works.
Scheherazade Op.35
(arr. Nikolay Rimsky-Korsakov)
  1. I: Largo e maestoso     11.18
  2. II: Lento     11.24
  3. III: Andantino quasi allegretto     10.32
  4. IV: Allegro molto     13.14

  5. Sadko Op.5     11.52
(arr. Nadezhda Nikolayevna Rimskaya-Korsakova)

Capriccio Espagnol Op.34
(arr. Nikolay Rimsky-Korsakov)
  6. I: Alborada     1.17
  7. II: Variazioni     4.19
  8. III: Alborada     1.20
  9. IV: Scena e canto gitano     5.24
10. V: Fandango asturiana     3.40

      TOTAL RUNNING TIME     74.20

SACD, DSD and their logos are trademarks of Sony.

Linn Records Super Audio CDs
are distributed in Australia by
Rockian Trading, P.O.Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone (03) 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile (03) 9444 6879