Linn Records Banner
All Linn Records SACDs are hybrid and will play in any CD player.

Multichannel & Stereo SACD / HDCD

CKD288 Cover
Santiago de Murcia
La Guitarra Española

William Carter
baroque guitar


• "La Guitarra Española" continues William Carter's fascinating exploration of little-known baroque guitar repertoire.

• A leading figure in the Spanish guitar music scene Santiago de Murcia succeeded in the fusion of popular and art music; combining fully composed versions of Spanish, West African, and even New World folk songs with fresh arrangements of music from influential figures such as Arcangelo Corelli.

• Murcia developed the popular and controversial dances the Zarembeques, o Muecas and Cumbees (the sort of face you make by pulling the corners of your mouth apart and sticking out your tongue), which were banned by the authorities.

• A founding-member of the famous Palladian Ensemble, Carter has a deserved reputation as one of the finest baroque guitarists with critically acclaimed performances as an orchestral player, chamber musician and soloist.

• William Carter is a member of The Academy of Ancient Music, The English Concert and The Palladian Trio and has made many festival appearances followed throughout Europe, Asia and North and South America.

• William Carter's passion for the baroque guitar infuses his playing with a freshness and vitality, coupled with faultless technique.
  1. Folias Españolas     3.11

  2. Prelude     1.40

      Passacalles por la E
  3. a compassillo     4.07
  4. a proporcion     3.52

  5. Suite (after Gaspar Sanz, 1675)   7.17
      La Esfachata de Napoles
      La Minona de Cataluna
      Clarin de los Mosqueteros
      Del Rey Francia

  6. Zarembeques, o Muecas     2.33
  7. Canarios     3.45

  8. Passacalles por la B
      a compassillo     5.09

  9. Cumbees     4.14

      Passacalles por la D
10. a compassillo     6.06
11. a proporcion     3.38

12. Marionas por la B     4.13

13. Preludio Grabe de Coreli     2.55

14. Giga de Coreli     3.02

15. Gaitas     4.04
William Carter, baroque guitar after Sellas, by Martin Haycock, 1991.
With Susanne Heinrich - tracks 5, 6, 9 and 13-14, bass viol by Merion Attwood, 1999,
after 17th century English anonymous instrument.

Recorded at St Andrews Church, Toddington, UK : 17th to 19th September 2006

SACD, DSD and their logos are trademarks of Sony.

Linn Records Super Audio CDs
are distributed in Australia by
Rockian Trading, P.O.Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone (03) 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile (03) 9444 6879