Linn Records Banner

BKD557 Cover
John Jenkins
Five-Part Consorts



echho logo
    “… the playfulness and spontaneity of Jenkins's invention is infectious … Technically speaking, the ensemble is as zestful as ever … practically flawless in execution.” - Gramophone
• Phantasm explores the music of John Jenkins, one of the most refined and accomplished composers of the seventeenth century, in a superb recording which was named a Finalist at the 2007 Gramophone Awards.

• The five-part consorts see Jenkins at the height of his compositional powers, fashioning experimental works which test the perceptive powers of players and listeners alike.

• Jenkins' wonderful harmonic explorations reveal music which is at turns sensuous and challenging, even furious and turbulent, but with sublime moments of touching insight and supreme beauty.

• ‘Let me come straight out with it,’ states director Laurence Dreyfus, ‘Jenkins is a marvel.’

• Phantasm's recording of Jenkins' Six-Part Consorts was equally well received; it was named ‘Album of the Week’ in two national newspapers.

• Phantasm is joined for this recording by Mikko Perkola.

• Originally released on Avie in 2009, Jenkins: Five-Part Consorts has been re-issued as part of Linn's ECHO series which offers a second chance to enjoy the best recordings from Linn artists.

• Phantasm has been widely acclaimed for its previous recordings: its 2015 recording of Lawes was named Limelight's ‘Chamber Recording of the Year’, its 2011 recording of Byrd was named ‘Disc of the Month’ by BBC Music, and it won a 2004 Gramophone Award for its recording of Viol Consorts by Gibbons.

• Critics have described the ensemble and its recordings as ‘intoxicating’, ‘revelatory’, ‘electrifying’ and ‘interpretations pervaded by a truly burning spirit.’

• The award-winning ensemble has been applauded across the globe for its moving performances and is recognised as the most exciting viol consort active on the world scene today.

• Phantasm's international members (from Britain, Finland and the US) have toured extensively across Europe, North America and East Asia.

John Jenkins

  1. Fantasy 1 in G
  2. Fantasy 7 in c
  3. Fantasy 9 in c
  4. Fantasy 17 in C
  5. Pavan 2 in g
  6. Fantasy 11 in c
  7. Fantasy 6 in g
  8. Fantasy 13 in d
  9. Fantasy 15 in D
10. Fantasy 12 in d
11. Fantasy 16 in D
12. Fantasy 14 in d
13. Fantasy 3 in g
14. Fantasy 8 in c
15. Pavan 1 in G
16. Fantasy 5 in g
17. Fantasy 2 in g
18. Fantasy 4 in d
19. Fantasy 10 in c
20. Pavan 3 in F

Linn Records CDs & Super Audio CDs
are distributed in Australia by
Rockian Trading, P.O.Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone (03) 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile (03) 9444 6879