Linn Records Banner

BKD022 Cover echho logo

Martin Taylor
Stephane Grappeli


‘A blend of nostalgia and new discoveries … a fine album from two highly individual musicians who clearly enjoy their reunion.’ - Jazz On CD

‘Martin Taylor is one of the most awesome solo guitar players in the history of the instrument.   He's unbelievable.’ - Pat Metheny

• In the same year his critically acclaimed solo album, Artistry, topped the UK Jazz Charts for six weeks, Taylor and the legendary violinist Stéphane Grappelli briefly joined forces to make this remarkable duo recording.

• Originally released in 1993, Réunion has been re-issued as part of Linn's ECHO series which offers a second chance to enjoy the best of the label's award-winning catalogue.

• Taylor's signature fingerstyle frames the opening chorus of ‘Drop Me Off At Harlem’ showcasing the apparently negligent ease with which Taylor supplies harmony, rhythm, linking phrases and supporting melody, all at the same time.

• The duo's mutual admiration was sparked when, aged 23, Taylor joined Grappelli's regular touring band; their shared virtuosity and verve drew the youthful prodigy and jazz stalwart together.

• In later life Grappelli's playing had taken on a new ardour and a kind of fearlessness thriving on new material and new collaborations.

• Grappelli's style finds a perfect echo in Taylor, whose composition ‘Jenna’ brings out the full luxuriance of Grappelli's tone.

  1. Jive at Five     3:28
      Harry Edward Edison / Count Basie - Warner Campbell
  2. Willow Weep For Me     4:22
      Ronell - Frances / Day / Hunter
  3. Drop Me off at Harlem     4:07
      Ellington / Kenny - Campbell Connolly Co Ltd
  4. Miraval     5:07
      M Taylor - MRM Ltd
  5. Jenna     4:45
      M Taylor - MRM Ltd
  6. Réunion     3:22
      M Taylor - MRM Ltd
  7. Emily     5:23
      J Manell - EMI United Parternship Ltd
  8. Hotel Splendid     4:19
      M Taylor - MRM Ltd
  9. La Dame du Lac     3:41
      Guy Cambier - MRM Ltd
10. I Though About You     3:12
      J Van Huesen / J Mercer - Chappell Morris Ltd
11. It's Only a Paper Moon     3:42
      Harold Arlen - Chappell Music Ltd

Recorded at Studio Miraval, France
January 21 & 22, 1993
'Emily' recorded at Castlesound Studio, Scotland
August 13, 1993

Linn Records CDs & Super Audio CDs
are distributed in Australia by
Rockian Trading, P.O.Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone (03) 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile (03) 9444 6879