Linn Records Banner
All Linn Records SACDs are hybrid and will play in any CD player.

Multichannel & Stereo SACD / CD

AKP537 Cover



***** ‘John Butt's set on Linn warrants attention for the extraordinary quality of his interpretations.’

***** ‘Few vocalists are as elegant and eloquent as Claire Martin … she's one of the crown jewels of the jazz world.’ All About Jazz

***** ‘ … the finest set on disc [in] a decade … and perhaps the most impressive thing that Ticciati has done on disc so far …’ The Guardian

• The eighth volume in the Linn Collection series features an attractive selection of tracks encompassing the latest releases from the label’s popular catalogue of award-winning artists.

• The collection opens with an original song by the charismatic Joe Stilgoe whose first studio album on Linn, New Songs For Old Souls, is a masterclass in giving nostalgia a contemporary twist.

• Linn’s enviable stable of pianists is represented by Gottlieb Wallisch and Ingrid Fliter, whose second album of Chopin was named ‘Recording of the Month’ and a ‘Top 10 Chopin Recording’ by Gramophone.

• The symphonies of Sibelius and Schumann were given fresh impetus with recordings by Thomas Sondergard and the BBC National Orchestra of Wales and Robin Ticciati and the Scottish Chamber Orchestra respectively. Ticciati’s Schumann was awarded five stars by both BBC Music Magazine and The Guardian and was No. 9 in the Sunday Times’ prestigious ‘Top 100 Classical Albums of 2014’ listing.

• Linn is proud to champion new arrangements and premiere recordings, such as the premiere of Jonathan Morton's 2013 transcription of Shostakovich's Quartet No. 2, which was performed by the dynamic Scottish Ensemble alongside an ‘exceptionally lively and fresh’ (Gramophone) performance of Tchaikovsky’s Serenade.

• Released a month after winning a second Gramophone Award, John Butt’s solo outing of Bach’s famous ‘48’ was named ‘Outstanding’ and ‘a significant and enduring musical landmark’ by International Record Review.

• Bookending the collection with jazz from the UK’s top performers are the Big Screen trio (David Newton, Tom Farmer and Matt Skelton) playing a Rogers & Hammerstein classic from The King and I and the inimitable Claire Martin, who signs off the collection with a track from her brilliant 2014 album Time & Place.

  1. Stilgoe: Nothing's Changed
      by Joe Stilgoe

  2. Haydn: Sonata No. 60 in C major - III. Allegro molto
      by Gottlieb Wallisch

  3. Sibelius: Symphony No. 2 - I. Allegretto
      by Søndergård & BBC National Orchestra of Wales

  4. Chopin: Mazurka, Op. 17 No. 2 in E minor
      by Ingrid Fliter

  5. Schumann: Gedichte der der Königin Marie Stuart, Op. 135 - I. Abschied von Frankreich
      by Ann Murray & Malcolm Martineau

  6. Tchaikovsky: Serenade for strings, Op. 48 - II. Valse. Moderato. Tempo di Valse
      by Scottish Ensemble

  7. J.S. Bach: The Well-Tempered Clavier Book 1, Prelude No. 19 in A Major, BWV 864
      by John Butt

  8. Taverner: Quemadmodum desiderat cervus
      by Magnificat

  9. Mozart: Divertimento No. 14 in B flat major, K. 270 - I. Allegro molto
      by Scottish Chamber Orchestra Wind Soloists

10. Ward: Fantasia 4 a4 (VDGS 24)
      by Phantasm

11. Schumann: Symphony No. 2 in C major, Op. 61 - IV. Allegro molto vivace
      by Ticciati & Scottish Chamber Orchestra

12. Rogers: Hello Young Lovers
      by Big Screen

13. Bennett: Goodbye For Now
      by Claire Martin

SACD, DSD and their logos are trademarks of Sony.

Linn Records Super Audio CDs
are distributed in Australia by
Rockian Trading, P.O.Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone (03) 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile (03) 9444 6879