Linn Records Banner


AKD454 Cover

Say it isn't so

Claire Martin
& Richard Rodney Bennett


‘Together they make a stylish combination.’ - The Times

‘They make something very hard seem effortless indeed.’ - Jazzwise

‘The most gifted jazz singer this country has produced in twenty years.’ - The Sunday Times

• ‘Say It Isn't So’ is a joyful celebration; both of the impeccably crafted songs of Irving Berlin and of the unique partnership between two seasoned performers at the top of their game: Claire Martin and the late Richard Rodney Bennett.

• Lifelong friends on and off stage, Martin and Bennett recorded three studio albums and enjoyed acclaimed concert performances in a collaboration that flourished over two decades.

• Recorded in New York, ‘Say It Isn't So’ is their last recording together and one of which Claire is immensely proud.

• Bennett's skilful arrangements highlight why Berlin was widely considered one of the greatest songwriters of all time and brilliantly showcase Claire's assured and expressive voice.

• Claire and Richard's previous duo albums, ‘When Lights are Low’ and ‘Witchcraft,’ received wide critical acclaim: “their albums set the standard for classic interpretations of popular songs.” (The Observer).

• 2013 saw Claire Martin win a BBC Jazz Award for ‘Best New Album’ and nominated for ‘Best Vocalist’, a title she has been awarded six times previously.

• Known as The First Lady of British Jazz, Claire Martin has been a driving force behind the UK jazz scene for the past 25 years and in 2011 was appointed an O.B.E. for her services to music.

• To worldwide audiences she has established herself as a tour-de-force on the international jazz scene and is known to millions of UK jazz fans through the BBC Radio 3 programme Jazz Line-Up.

• One of the most respected British musicians of his time, Richard Rodney Bennett wrote and performed a number of jazz compositions during his incredible career which spanned half a century.

• His on-stage collaborations included Cleo Laine and Marion Montgomery as well as Claire Martin, with whom he toured extensively.

  1. Steppin' Out
  2. Change Partners
  3. Get Thee Behind Me Satan/I Got Lost in His Arms
  4. He Ain't Got Rhythm
  5. Love You Didn't Do Right By Me
  6. How Deep is the Ocean
  7. Lonely Heart
  8. Shakin' the Blues Away/Blue Skies
  9. Better Luck Next Time
10. Say it Isn't So
11. What'll I Do?
12. Waiting at the End of the Road

Linn Records CDs
are distributed in Australia by
Rockian Trading, P.O.Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone (03) 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile (03) 9444 6879