Linn Records Banner


AKD437 Cover
Cycles of Life

Amy Duncan


Amy Duncan - Vocals, guitars, double bass, piano, keyboards, bowed double bass
Fiona Rutherford, harp ~ Ted Ponsonby, dobro
Calum Malcolm, keyboards ~ Robert McFall, violin
Brian Schiele, viola ~ Sue-a Lee, cello
Liam Bradley, drums

    Like other talented female vocalists from Joni Mitchell to Patti Smith, the sheer range and power of Duncan 's vocal apparatus are breathtaking.' Folk & Acoustic Music Exchange
    'Ms Duncan's voice is used to good effect throughout with a style that varies between an endearing mature warmth to a sort of childlike innocence…' Bluesbunny Review
• Amy Duncan is an Edinburgh-based singer-songwriter whose ambient, folk-inspired music is charming crowds across the country with its emotive, ethereal allure.

• After a series of self-released records Amy's Linn debut, 'Cycles of Life', will be released in April 2013

• 'Cycles of Life' is a deeply personal, honest and ultimately uplifting account of the difficult life experiences Amy has faced and encapsulates the sense of moving from dark to light.

• Her determination and strength of character is evident throughout as this album doesn't dwell on the darkness but rather the 'light at the end of the tunnel'.

• Amy's experience proved a powerfully motivating and creative force in driving her music forward. On 'Crack in the World' Amy shares her insight into the keen sense of disassociation one can experience during darker times.

• Her positivity shines through in 'Navigating' which details the process of emerging from repeated negative cycles into a happier life.

• Amy's career hasn't followed a conventional path. After beginning her career playing double bass, the life-changing experience of becoming a mother in 2000 saw Amy channel her new perspective on life into song writing; a fortuitous turn of events that has seen Amy find her niche.

• Amy projects her emotionally charged lyrics with fantastic range. With beautiful harmonies and haunting melodies she weaves stories deeply familiar to us all.

  1. Cycles of Life - 3.32
  2. Song to Myself - 2.50
  3. When the dead are watching - 4.00
  4. Your very soul - 3.43
  5. Ivory Tower - 2.58
  6. Crack in the world - 3.46
  7. Wild animals - 3.14
  8. Navigating - 3.18
  9. Running Boy - 3.06
10. This fleeting moment - 3.36
11. Everything is going to be alright - 3.41

      Total Time - 37.44

Linn Records CDs
are distributed in Australia by
Rockian Trading, P.O.Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone (03) 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile (03) 9444 6879