Linn Records Banner
All Linn Records SACDs are hybrid and will play in any CD player.

Multichannel & Stereo SACD / HDCD

AKD311 Cover



• Ian Shaw fulfils his life ambition to release an album of originals in "Lifejacket".

• Shaw has been interpreting the Great Songwriters for most of his career, from Harold Arlen to Fran Landesman, David Bowie to Thom Yorke, then more recently Joni Mitchell, on his highly acclaimed collection, "Drawn To All Things" [AKD 276].   A review of this album posed the question; "isn't it time Shaw unlocked his own diary?"

• "Lifejacket" is an album of highly personal stories and observations, mixing in Ians love of jazz, folk and classical music.   (The title reflects the pressures to stay afloat in life.)

• "Lifejacket" questions the unsteady passage from young man to middle-aged child.   Together with co-writer David Preston, Ian explores with humour the themes of drinking, age and love; with poignancy the heartache of war; plus a moving tribute to his father: A good and simple man.

• Songs include Forty-Two, a duet with award-winning singer, Liane Carroll, Love At First Tequila - a "Mack The Knife" for modern-day London which features the 2007 BBC Best Instrumentalist, Julian Siegel, on sax, and a stunning reworking of Rozz Williams' Flowers.

• Ian Shaw was named "Best Jazz Vocalist" at the BBC Jazz Awards in 2007 and 2004 and has been cited, along with Mark Murphy and Kurt Elling, as one of the world's finest male jazz vocalists.

• Ian performs regularly with some of the UKs top jazz musicians, including Kenny Wheeler, John Taylor and Cleo Laine, as well as fellow Linn Records artists Barb Jungr and Claire Martin.

Ian Shaw - voices and piano
David Preston - guitar     Thad Kelly - basses
Mark Fletcher - drums     Thebe Lipere - percussion
Guy Barker - trumpet     Gabriella Swallow - cello
Julien Siegel - tenor & soprano saxophones and bass clarinet
Liane Carroll - voice

  1. Love at First Tequila     3:56
  2. Lifejacket     4:38
  3. Shes Loaded     4:08
  4. A Good and Simple Man     3:59
  5. Glue     4:19
  6. Forty-Two     5:03
  7. Northop Road     3:15
  8. Pamela     4:21
  9. I Want to Live in Paris     3:41
10. Hiraeth     3:02
11. My Safest Place     3:43
12. Letter from a Dead Soldier     4:25
13. Flowers     3:41

SACD, DSD and their logos are trademarks of Sony.

Linn Records Super Audio CDs
are distributed in Australia by
Rockian Trading, P.O.Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone (03) 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile (03) 9444 6879