Linn Records Banner

AKD145 Cover
Notes From A Hebridean Island

William Jackson & Mackenzie

AKD 145

“A near perfect example of all that's attractive about traditional - and traditional sounding - Scottish music.” - The Living Tradition

“… the great thing about Jackson - the skill and artistry of the man - lies in his lightness of touch.” The Scotsman

“Fiona Mackenzie's magnificent and often hauntingly evocative voice [is] highly recommended!” - Audiophile Audition

• Notes From A Hebridean Island features the very best Scottish and Gaelic singing and instrumental music played by some of the best exponents of the art.

• Produced by Calum Malcolm (The Blue Nile), the recording features the vocal and instrumental talents of William Jackson and the Mackenzie sisters accompanied by Scotland’s finest traditional musicians: James McIntosh (pipes), Tony McManus (guitars), Aidan O'Rourke (fiddle) and Ian Lowthian (accordion).

• Compositions are taken from all over Scotland - from the remote Atlantic archipelago of St. Kilda to the Isle of Skye and the Highlands.

• Closing the album is Looking South Over The Border, an original composition by Ian Lowthian.

• The performers’ affinity with the music is evident as they breathe fresh life into these traditional compositions.

• Originally released in 2001, Notes From A Hebridean Island has been re-issued as part of Linn’s ECHO series; a second chance to enjoy the best of the label’s award-winning catalogue.

• William Jackson has been at the forefront of Scottish music for many years; he is also a founding member of the top Scottish band Ossian.

• On Burns Day 1999, Jackson was announced as the winner of the popular Song for Scotland competition; his composition was performed to mark the 100th birthday of the Queen Mother.

• Singing professionally for two decades, sisters Eilidh, Gillian and Fiona Mackenzie are inspired by the Gaelic music and culture of their island home, the Isle of Lewis in the Outer Hebrides.

• Fiona Mackenzie’s solo album Elevate topped the critics’ chart on and was named one of Audiophile Audition’s ‘Top Five Records of 2008’.

  1. St. Kilda’s Wedding / A St. Kilda’s Dance
  2. Anna Bheag (Wee Anna)
  3. MacPhee’s Reel / Marion & Donald / Tail Toddle
  4. Ba Mo Leanabh (O My Baby)
  5. Barbara’s Jig / Kenny MacDonald’s Jig / Joseph MacDonald’s Jig
  6. A Fisherman’s Song for Attracting Seals
  7. Blue Ribbon, Scottish Measure
  8. The Battle of Waterloo / The Wee Highland Laddie
  9. Skye Dance / Harris Dance
10. The Mermaid’s Song
11. Chaidh Mi’n Traigh a Déanamh Maoraich (I Went To The Beach To Collect Shellfish)
      / Co Bheir Mi Leam (Who Shall I Take With Me?)
12. Rory Dall’s Sister’s Lament
13. Tuireadh Ian Ruaidh (Iain Ruaidh’s Lament)
14. Looking South Over The Border

Linn Records CDs
are distributed in Australia by
Rockian Trading, P.O.Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone (03) 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile (03) 9444 6879