Dorian - Sono Luminus Logo TM Dorian - Sono Luminus Logo TM

Sono Luminus


Works by Francisco Mignone

Cuarteto Latinoamericano

DSL-92147 Cover

In their latest release with Sono Luminus, the celebrated artists of Cuarteto Latinoamericano have brought together a stunning collection of selections from Brazil entitled Brasileiro: Works of Francisco Mignone.   They are also joined on the Seresta No. 2 by the talented La Catrina Quartet.

Francisco Mignone (1897 - 1986) was one of the most accomplished musicians Brazil has ever had.   In addition to being a masterful composer, he was also a great teacher, a successful conductor, an exceptional pianist, a great orchestrator, and in addition, a man of extensive culture.   Because he settled in Rio de Janeiro in 1933, many people forget that Mignone was born in Sao Paulo, in 1897.   A son of Italian immigrants, he began studying music with his father, who was an excellent flutist.   In 1920 Mignone travels to Italy, where he studies with Vincenzo Ferroni (1858-1934), who had taught other Brazilian composers.   It was there that he composed his first opera, “O Contratador de Diamantes” (“The Diamond Contractor”).   He returned to Brazil in 1929, and in 1933 Mignone moves permanently to Rio de Janeiro and begins to occupy important chairs in the musical life of what was then the federal capital, including Music Director of the National Institute of Music's Orchestra.

      String Quartet No. 2
  1. Allegro
  2. Seresta
  3. Desafio

  4. Seresta No. 2, for double string quartet
      (with La Catrina Quartet)

      String Quartet No. 1
  5. Allegro deciso 6:43
  6. Andante
  7. Rondó - Allegretto grazioso e amabile

  8. Barcarola

  9. Minueto
      (from the Opera,“O Contratador de Diamantes”)

      3 Spanish Songs (Tres canciones españolas)
10. Nana
11. ¿Por qué Iloras morenita?
12. Las mujeres son las moscas

      Two Essays for String Quartet
13. Andante cantabile
14. Moderato

Dorian Recordings & Dorian Discovery
are distributed in Australia by Rockian Trading