Dorian - Sono Luminus Logo TM Dorian - Sono Luminus Logo TM

Sono Luminus


Liszt • Haydn • Schubert

Gülsin Onay

DSL-92140 Cover

One of the greatest musical artists of modern Turkey, Gülsin Onay is an exceptional phenomenon, and Sono Luminus is excited to release her latest project, Liszt, Haydn, Schubert.   Listeners will marvel at the kaleidoscopic range of colours she can produce from the instrument, with her unique touch in which even the least important, fleeting note has its own special meaning.

Gülsin Onay excels both in recital and in concerto, playing alongside many leading orchestras - among them the Philharmonia, Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra, Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra, Staatskapelle Dresden, Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Warsaw Philharmonic, Wiener Symphoniker, the Radio Symphony Orchestras of Copenhagen and Helsinki, Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, Japan Philharmonic, Sinfonia Varsovia, and the St. Petersburg Philharmonic - and conductors such as Vladimir Ashkenzy, Erich Bergel, Michael Boder, Andrey Boreyko, Jörg Faerber, Edward Gardner, Emmanuel Krivine, Ingo Metzmacher, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Jose Serebrier, Vassily Sinaisky and Stanislaw Wislocki.   Gülsin Onay also appears as a guest at major festivals around the world, including Berlin, Warsaw, Granada, Mozartfest Würzburg, Newport, Miami, Schleswig-Holstein and Istanbul.

A natural soloist, Gülsin Onay is equally at home with music of all periods and styles: her repertoire ranges from Bach and Scarlatti to the contemporary, taking in the great classical and romantic works of the 19th and 20th centuries.   She has championed the music of the contemporary Turkish composer A. Adnan Saygun, whose 2nd Piano Concerto was dedicated to her.   Other contemporary composers who have dedicated works to Gülsin Onay are Hubert Stuppner, Denis Dufour, Jean-Louis Petit, Muhiddin Dürrüoglu-Demiriz and Marc-André Hamelin.   Her recordings illustrate the breadth of her repertoire: concertos by Mozart, Chopin, Tchaikovsky, Rachmaninov, and Stuppner, and both concertos by Saygun; solo music by Haydn, Beethoven, Schubert, Mendelssohn, Schumann, Chopin, Debussy, Franck, Medtner, Ravel, Bartók, Busoni and Saygun; and two live concert DVDs, featuring a critically-acclaimed recital at the Miami festival, and concertos by Grieg and Saint-Saëns.   Forthcoming releases include the concertos by Khachaturian and Ulvi Cemal Erkin, with Jose Serebrier and the Bilkent Symphony Orchestra.

[1] Grande Marche d'Abdul Medjid-Khan
      Franz Liszt (1811-1886) - [8:03]

[2] Andante with Variations in F minor (Un Piccolo Divertimento), Hob.XVII: 6
      Joseph Haydn (1732-1809) - [15:52]

[3] Après une lecture du Dante - Fantasia quasi Sonata (“Dante Sonata”)
      Franz Liszt (1811-1886) - [16:15]

      Sonata in C minor, D958 (op. post)
      Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
[4]   I. Allegro - [11:43]
[5]  II. Adagio - [7:52]
[6] III. Menuetto. Allegro - Trio - [2:48]
[7] IV. Allegro - [8:59]

[8] Étude No.2 in F minor (“La Leggierezza”), from “Three Concert Studies” (S144)
      Franz Liszt (1811-1886) - [5:22]

Dorian Recordings & Dorian Discovery
are distributed in Australia by Rockian Trading