Dorian Sono Luminus Logo TM Dorian Sono Luminus Logo TM

Sono Luminus


The Great American Folksong

Children's Chorus of Washington
Joan Gregoryk, Founder & Artistic Director
also featuring
Cathy Fink & Marcy Marxer
Kim & Reggie Harris

DSL-92124 Cover

    Folk music tells the story of America, of its settlement and Western expansion “from sea to shining sea.”   It chronicles the struggles of those who migrated there, often reflecting the cultures from which they came.   Folk songs are especially suitable for children for their authenticity, strong narrative, and simple and infectious melodies.   This project focuses on newly published folk song arrangements, from beginning to advanced levels for school and community ensembles.   The GRAMMY® award-winning folk duo Cathy Fink & Marcy Marxer join Joan Gregoryk in presenting and teaching folksong-based choral arrangements using traditional instruments, such as the banjo, mandolin, and guitar, demonstrating how these instruments or piano accompaniment can be used in performance.

    Now celebrating its 15th season, the Children's Chorus of Washington (CCW) is one of the finest children's choral ensembles in the USA, recognized nationally and internationally for its program and artistic excellence.   The students study and perform quality choral literature, form a dedicated community of young musicians from diverse backgrounds, and grow as individuals and artists through the musical experience.   CCW comprises four performing ensembles and draws its choristers from over 90 public and private schools in the greater Washington area.

  1. Oh! Susanna     3:00
  2. High On a Mountain     3:35
  3. Somos el Barco (We Are the Boat)     5:00
  4. Trampin'     4:15
  5. Railroading On the Great Divide     3:11
  6. Colinda     2:17
  7. I Ride an Old Paint     3:38
  8. Mayim, Mayim     2:14
  9. A Tisket, A Tasket     2:29
10. One Little Step     1:44

11. Bowling Green     2:48
12. Row de Boat     3:47
13. De Colores (Of Colors)     2:23
14. The Cuckoo     3:22
15. Up Over My Head     5:18
16. Psalm of Life     3:20
17. I'm Gonna Live So God Can Use Me     2:19
18. Ride On, King Jesus     2:32
19. Ain't You Got a Right     4:10
        Total Time     61:22

Dorian Recordings & Dorian Discovery
are distributed in Australia by Rockian Trading