Dorian Sono Luminus Logo TM Dorian Sono Luminus Logo TM

Sono Luminus



85th Birthday Celebration

DSL-92122 Cover

Dorian Sono Luminus is proud to present these performances of Claude Frank, recorded at the American Academy of Arts and Letters in New York in 2008 and 2009 by Grammy® winning producer, Judith Sherman.

“A student of Artur Schnabel and a prominent interpreter of Beethoven, Claude Frank plays with an understated grandeur. There is a fire in his playing, nobility, inwardness, humor, and humanity. He understands musical architecture and the function of detail, and he invests every phrase with meaning.” - Richard Dyer

“Frank is one of the most admired American pianists. His playing of Mozart, Beethoven, Schubert and Brahms is outstanding for its warmth, its intellectual and musical strength and for a penetrating structural intelligence.” - Michael Steinberg

DISC ONE - Total Time - 46:22

  1. Schumann: Arabeske in C Major, Op.18     6:26

      Schubert: Sonata in B-flat Major (D.960)     35:21
  2.   I. Molto moderato     14:05
  3.  II. Andante sostenuto     8:52
  4. III. Scherzo: Allegro vivace con delicatezza - Trio     4:23
  5. IV. Allegro ma non troppo     8:01

      Mozart: Sonata in C Major (K.330)     18:20
  6.   I. Allegro moderato     6:13
  7.  II. Andante cantabile     6:14
  8. III. Allegretto     5:53

  9. Schumann: Warum, from Fantasiestücke, Op.12, No.3     2:42

10. Mozart: Rondo in A minor (K.511)     9:33

11. Schumann: TraŁmerei, from Kinderszenen, Op.15, No.7     2:36

DISC TWO - Total Time - 43:28

    Beethoven: Sonata No.30 in E major, Op. 109     18:52
1.   I. Vivace, ma non troppo     3:48
2.  II. Prestissimo     2:27
3. III. Andante molto cantabile ed espressivo     12:31

    Beethoven: Sonata No.31 in A-flat major, Op. 110     18:12
4.   I. Moderato cantabile molto espressivo     6:07
5.  II. Allegro molto     2:11
6. III. Adagio, ma non troppo     9:45

    Beethoven: Sonata No.32 in C minor, Op. 111     26:03
7.   I. Maestoso -- Allegro con brio ed appassionato     8:46
8.  II. Adagio molto semplice e cantabile     17:09

Dorian Recordings & Dorian Discovery
are distributed in Australia by Rockian Trading