Dorian Sono Luminus Logo TM Dorian Sono Luminus Logo TM

Sono Luminus


J.S. Bach: Motets

The Bach Sinfonia
Daniel Abraham conductor

DSL-92119 Cover

Dorian Sono Luminus is proud to present Johann Sebastian Bach: Motets, the latest release from The Bach Sinfonia, an outstanding ensemble under the direction of renowned conductor and scholar Daniel Abraham.

The Bach Sinfonia is dedicated to excellence in performance, public education and disseminating a greater understanding of the variety of styles, composers, and masterpieces of the baroque, pre-classical, and classical periods. Specialists in the performance of music of the 17th and 18th centuries, the ensemble presents concerts, lectures, and other cultural events designed to be not only entertainment but also an educational experience. The Bach Sinfonia has performed before two National Meetings of the American Musicological Society, at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, for the International Conference Attending to Early Modern Women, at the Concert Hall at Strathmore and other prestigious venues. Their performances and recordings have received outstanding reviews and international recognition.

The work of conductor Daniel Abraham has garnered praise from many noteworthy sources including The Washington Post, Choral Journal, the BBC and Early Music America. Abraham's performances have been nationally broadcast on National Public Radio's Performance Today, he has appeared at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, the Concert Hall of the Music Center at Strathmore, The National Women's Museum of the Arts, and has prepared choruses for the national broadcasts of the Kennedy Center Honors Gala (PBS) and Christmas in Washington (TNT). Abraham is associate professor of music and director of choral activities at American University in Washington, D.C., and is a sought after clinician who has given master classes and clinics throughout the United States, Canada, and as far as Cairo, Egypt.

      Der Geist hilft unser Schwachheit auf, BWV 226
  1. Der Geist hilft unser Schwachheit auf [6:03]

      Komm, Jesu, komm, BWV 229
  2. Komm, Jesu, komm [6:31]
  3. Aria: Drum schließ ich mich in deine Hände [1:39]

      Fürchte dich nicht, ich bin bei dir, BWV 228
  4. Fürchte dich nicht, ich bin bei dir [7:50]

      Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied, BWV 225
  5. Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied [4:35]
  6. Choral: Wie sich ein Vater erbarmet / Aria: Gott, nimm dich ferner unser an [5:09]
  7. Lobet den Herrn in seinen Taten [3:24]

      Jesu, meine Freude, BWV 227
  8. Choral: Jesu, meine Freude [1:16]
  9. Es ist nun nichts Verdammliches an denen [2:50]
10. Choral: Unter deinem Schirmen [1:13]
11. Denn das Gesetz des Geistes [1:03]
12. Choral: Trotz dem alten Drachen [2:28]
13. Ihr aber seid nicht fleischlich [2:37]
14. Choral: Weg mit allen Schätzen! [1:08]
15. So aber Christus in euch ist [1:58]
16. Choral: Gute Nacht, o Wesen [4:41]
17. So nun der Geist des [1:29]
18. Choral: Weicht, ihr Trauergeister [1:25]

      Ich lasse dich nicht, du segnest mich denn, BWV Anhang 159
19. Ich lasse dich nicht, du segnest mich denn! [4:51]

      Lobet den Herrn, alle Heiden, BWV 230
20. Lobet den Herrn, alle Heiden [6:52]

      Additional Tracks:
      Choral setting associated with BWV 226
21. Choral: Du heilige Brunst, süßer Trost [1:58]

      second chorale verse for BWV 225
22. Choral: Die Gottesgnad' alleine [5:10]

      Total Time [76:20]

Dorian Recordings & Dorian Discovery
are distributed in Australia by Rockian Trading